Franziska Gilli – Passengers to nowhere

Opening: 16.09.2014 ore 19
Introduction: Sabine Gamper
Franziska Gilli will be present.
Duration of the exhibition: 17.09. – 18.10.2014

Franziska Gilli: Passengers to nowhere

Franziska Gilli: Passengers to nowhere

The foto-forum gallery will open the upcoming exhibition season with “Passengers to nowhere” from the South Tyrolean photographer Franziska Gilli (born in Bolzano, lives and works in Frankfurt and Hanover).

Franziska Gilli, Foto: Claudia Corrent

Franziska Gilli, Foto: Claudia Corrent

We will be showing a series on the trail to the highest mountain hut in Europa and a portrait of Elena Runggaldier, ski jumper from Gherdëina. Both works deal with an individual protagonist’s search for tranquillity as well as their striving for physical and mental isolation at a great height. While the ski jumper achieves her objective and glories in it for only a few seconds, the hiker wanders around and finds peace here and there. The two have in common the circumstance that they rarely know in advance precisely when they will reach what they are looking for.

Franziska Gilli: Passengers to nowhere

Franziska Gilli: Passengers to nowhere

The work on Elena Runggaldier originated in the winter of 2012-13 in the run-up to the Winter Olympics in Sochi 2014, where female ski jumpers were allowed to take place for the first time, 90 years after men’s participation. The 24-year old has been a member of the Italian ski jumping team for eleven years, and won the historic first Italian medal at a ski-jumping World Cup in 2011 with second place in Oslo. A multi-media reportage – “L’aquila azzurra” – can also be seen at the exhibition, in which Elena Runggaldier speaks about fear, her dreams at night and the feeling in the air during a good jump. Four seconds for the audience can sometimes be an eternity for her.

Franziska Gilli: Passengers to nowhere

Franziska Gilli: Passengers to nowhere

Photographs from the Übeltalferner glacier are combined in the series on the climb to Capanna Regina Margherita, 4554 m in height, in the Monte Rosa Massif at the border between Italy and Switzerland. The story “Im weißen Rauschen” [“In White Noise”] originated in 2013 in collaboration with the journalist Tobias Oellig, who accompanied Franziska Gilli to both areas when she searched on high with her camera for peace and tranquillity. The pictures in the exhibition do not follow any chronology or narrative, but rather stand in their own right beyond the journalistic context, stand for the feeling of placing one foot in front of the other, somewhere between heaven and earth, in an indefinable quiet, relaxing on the one hand, while strangely menacing when broken by soft crackling in the glacier on the other.

Franziska Gilli: Passengers to nowhere

Franziska Gilli: Passengers to nowhere

Franziska Gilli

Franziska Gilli “Passengers to nowhere” Exhibition

Franziska Gilli

Franziska Gilli “Passengers to nowhere” Exhibition

Franziska Gilli

Franziska Gilli “Passengers to nowhere” Exhibition

Franziska Gilli

Franziska Gilli “Passengers to nowhere”, Opening 16.09.2014

 

Tutela del dati Datenschutzerklarung Privacy Policy

Franziska Gilli – Passengers to nowhere

Opening: 16.09.2014, 19 Uhr
Einführung: Sabine Gamper
Die Fotografin ist anwesend.
Dauer der Ausstellung: 17.09. – 18.10.2014

Franziska Gilli: Passengers to nowhere

Franziska Gilli: Passengers to nowhere

Die Galerie foto-forum eröffnet die kommende Ausstellungssaison mit „Passengers to nowhere“ der Südtiroler Fotografin Franziska Gilli (geboren in Bozen, lebt und arbeitet in Frankfurt und Hannover).

Franziska Gilli, Foto: Claudia Corrent

Franziska Gilli, Foto: Claudia Corrent

Gezeigt werden eine Serie über den Weg zur höchstgelegenen Schutzhütte Europas sowie ein Portrait der Grödner Skispringerin Elena Runggaldier. Beide Arbeiten beschäftigen sich mit der Suche der einzelnen Protagonisten nach der Stille sowie deren Streben nach physischer wie mentaler Isolation in luftiger Höhe. Während die Skispringerin nur wenige Sekunden lang ihr Ziel erreicht und voll auskostet, irrt der Wanderer umher und findet mal hier, mal dort zur Ruhe. Beide vereint der Umstand, dass sie vorab selten wissen, wann genau sie erreichen, was sie suchen.

Franziska Gilli: Passengers to nowhere

Franziska Gilli: Passengers to nowhere

Die Arbeit über Elena Runggaldier entstand im Winter 2012/13 im Vorfeld zu den Olympischen Winterspielen in Sochi 2014, an denen die Skisprungdamen erstmals, 90 Jahre später als die Männer, teilnehmen durften. Die 24-Jährige ist seit elf Jahren Mitglied der Italienischen Skisprungnationalmannschaft und gewann 2011 mit einem zweiten Platz in Oslo die historische erste italienische Medaille bei einer Skisprung-WM. „L’aquila azzurra“ ist in der Ausstellung auch als Multimediareportage zu sehen, in der Elena Runggaldier über Angst, ihre Träume in der Nacht und das Gefühl in der Luft während eines guten Sprunges spricht. Vier Sekunden für das Publikum werden für sie manchmal zur Ewigkeit.

Franziska Gilli: Passengers to nowhere

Franziska Gilli: Passengers to nowhere

In die Serie über den Aufstieg zur Capanna Regina Margherita auf 4554 m im Monte-Rosa-Massiv an der Grenze zwischen Italien und der Schweiz mischen sich Fotografien aus dem Übeltalferner Gletscher. Die Geschichte „Im weißen Rauschen“ entstand 2013 in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Journalisten Tobias Oellig, den Franziska Gilli in beiden Gebieten auf der Suche nach der Stille in der Höhe mit der Kamera begleitete. Die Bilder in der Ausstellung folgen jedoch keiner Chronologie oder Erzählung, sondern stehen abseits des journalistischen Kontexts für sich und für das Gefühl, einen Fuß vor den anderen zu setzen, irgendwo zwischen Himmel und Erde, in einer undefinierbaren Stille, beruhigend einerseits, gebrochen durch das leise Knacken im Gletscher seltsam bedrohlich andererseits.

Franziska Gilli: Passengers to nowhere

Franziska Gilli: Passengers to nowhere

Franziska Gilli

Franziska Gilli „Passengers to nowhere“ Exhibition

Franziska Gilli

Franziska Gilli „Passengers to nowhere“ Exhibition

Franziska Gilli

Franziska Gilli „Passengers to nowhere“ Exhibition

Franziska Gilli

Franziska Gilli „Passengers to nowhere“, Opening 16.09.2014

Bilder Vernissage

Tutela del dati Datenschutzerklarung Privacy Policy