Jakob August Lorent: Calotypes 1853-1861

Opening: 25.10.2016, 7 pm
Curated by: Gunther Waibl
Exhibition: 26.10. – 5.12.2016

Jakob August Lorent

Jakob August Lorent

Dr. Jakob August Lorent (Charleston, SC, USA 1813-1884 Merano) was one of the earliest travel and architecture photographers. He was one of the first ever to travel with a camera to many Mediterranean countries.

Jakob August Lorent, Algier 1858

Jakob August Lorent, Algier 1858

Lorent took his journeys in a time when even just getting around and finding accommodation in these countries was an adventure, making it all the more significant that he also brought highly interesting photographs home from these arduous journeys.

Jakob August Lorent, Venezia 1853

Jakob August Lorent, Venezia 1853

From 1853 he stayed in Venice and travelled – together with his camera – through Northern Italy. Trip to southern Spain and Algeria in 1858. 1859-1860 journey through Egypt and Nubia. 1860-1861 Greece, 1862 again Greece. 1863 Rome and southern Italy, then Turkey, Syria and Egypt. 1864 Palestine and again Egypt. 1865 Sicily.

Jakob August Lorent, Athen 1861/62

Jakob August Lorent, Athen 1861/62

The purpose of all these trips was to explore the individual countries and take photographs especially of historical buildings, artworks and cities. In this sense, Lorent skilfully combined travel and architecture photography.

Exhibition View: Jakob August Lorent, Calotypes 1853-1861

Exhibition View: Jakob August Lorent, Calotypes 1853-1861

Lorent was self-taught. He began with photography only 14 years after the first photographic technique (daguerreotype) was announced in Paris. He immediately began with the negative/positive process based on Talbot, which was completely new at the time, namely calotype, more specifically with LeGray’s improvements to the process: here a wax-paper negative was exposed and processed, from which several positive prints could be produced – in those years a real novelty, all the more so as daguerreotypy knew only relatively small, laterally reversed unique prints.

Exhibition View: Jakob August Lorent, Calotypes 1853-1861

Exhibition View: Jakob August Lorent, Calotypes 1853-1861

But calotype too was extremely complicated: it could take 37 working hours from preparation to shooting the photograph to the positive. The positive prints could only be produced with contact prints at a 1:1 scale with the help of sunlight.

Exhibition View: Jakob August Lorent, Calotypes 1853-1861

Exhibition View: Jakob August Lorent, Calotypes 1853-1861

In this exhibition you can see a good dozen original photographs from Venice, Algeria and Athens, measuring 33 x 47 cm and 59 x 78 cm. Thus those were also the dimensions of the wax-paper negatives! The camera must have been significantly larger than, for instance, a modern washing machine. In this way you gain a sense of the significance of the photographs, or rather their laborious production process on the journeys referred to. The originals are from the years 1853 to 1861 and are quite a rarity, since only quite few negatives and very few prints from Lorent have been preserved. They are characterised down to the present day by their dimensions, sharp focus, durability and aura.

Exhibition View: Jakob August Lorent, Calotypes 1853-1861

Exhibition View: Jakob August Lorent, Calotypes 1853-1861

Jakob August Lorent was born in Charleston, South Carolina in the US, but came to Mannheim at the age of five, to an adoptive father of considerable means. He grew up there, and received a doctorate in natural sciences in 1837. There followed the trips mentioned above. He received many prizes and honours for his photographs and publications. After 1865 he turned to local architectural photography in Germany. In 1873 he moved, possibly for health reasons, to Merano. Here too he continued to photograph in Merano and its surroundings. On 9 July 1884, Jakob August Lorent died of pneumonia in Merano.

Exhibition View: Jakob August Lorent, Calotypes 1853-1861

Exhibition View: Jakob August Lorent, Calotypes 1853-1861

Tutela del dati Datenschutzerklarung Privacy Policy

Jakob August Lorent: Kalotypien 1853-1861

Opening: 25.10.2016, 19 Uhr
Kuratiert von: Gunther Waibl
Dauer der Ausstellung: 26.10. – 5.12.2016

Jakob August Lorent

Jakob August Lorent

Dr. Jakob August Lorent (Charleston, USA 1813-1884 Meran) zählt zu den frühesten Reise- bzw. Architekturfotografen. Als einer der ersten bereiste er mit der Kamera viele Länder im Mittelmeerraum.

Jakob August Lorent, Algier 1858

Jakob August Lorent, Algier 1858

Lorent unternahm die Reisen in einer Zeit, als allein schon Fortbewegung und Unterkunft in diesen Ländern ein Abenteuer war. Umso bedeutender, von diesen beschwerlichen Reisen auch noch höchst interessante fotografische Aufnahmen mit nach Hause zu bringen.

Jakob August Lorent, Venezia 1853

Jakob August Lorent, Venezia 1853

Ab 1853 hält er sich in Venedig auf und bereist –samt Fotoapparat- Norditalien. 1858 Reise nach Südspanien und Algerien. 1859 -1860 Reise durch Ägypten und Nubien. 1860 – 1861 Griechenland, 1862 ebenfalls Griechenland. 1863 Rom und Süditalien, dann Türkei, Syrien und Ägypten. 1864 Palästina und erneut Ägypten. 1865 Sizilien.

Jakob August Lorent, Athen 1861/62

Jakob August Lorent, Athen 1861/62

Alle diese Reisen hatten den Zweck, das jeweilige Land zu erkunden und Aufnahmen vor allem von historischen Bauwerken, Kunstwerken und Städten anzufertigen. Insofern verbindet Lorent gekonnt Reise- und Architekturfotografie.

Exhibition View: Jakob August Lorent, Calotypes 1853-1861

Exhibition View: Jakob August Lorent, Calotypes 1853-1861

Lorent war Autodidakt. Er beginnt mit der Fotografie nur 14 Jahre nachdem in Paris das erste fotografische Verfahren (Daguerreotypie) bekannt gegeben worden war. Er begann sogleich mit den damals ganz neuen Negativ-Positiv-Verfahren nach Talbot, eben der Kalotypie, bzw. mit deren Verbesserung durch LeGray: dabei wurde ein Wachspapier-Negativ belichtet und ausgearbeitet, von dem mehrere positive Abzüge hergestellt werden konnten – dies war in jenen Jahren noch eine große Neuheit, zumal die Daguerreotypie nur relativ kleine, seitenverkehrte Unikate kannte.

Exhibition View: Jakob August Lorent, Calotypes 1853-1861

Exhibition View: Jakob August Lorent, Calotypes 1853-1861

Doch war auch die Kalotypie äußerst kompliziert: von der Vorbereitung über die Aufnahme bis zum Positiv konnten schon 37 Arbeitsstunden vergehen. Die Positiv-Abzüge konnten nur durch Kontaktkopien im Maßstab 1:1 mit Hilfe des Sonnenlichtes hergestellt werden.

Exhibition View: Jakob August Lorent, Calotypes 1853-1861

Exhibition View: Jakob August Lorent, Calotypes 1853-1861

In dieser Ausstellung sind gut ein Dutzend Original-Aufnahmen aus Venedig, Algier und Athen zu sehen, in den Maßen 33 x 47 cm sowie 59×78 cm. Das bedeutet, dass dies auch die Maße der Wachspapiernegative waren! Die Kamera musste also wesentlich größer als etwa eine heutige Waschmaschine gewesen sein. Damit kann man die Bedeutung der Fotografien, bzw. deren beschwerlicher Herstellungsprozess auf den genannten Reisen erahnt werden. Die Originale stammen aus den Jahren 1853 bis 1861 und haben Seltenheitswert, da von Lorent ganz wenige Negative und sehr wenige Abzüge erhalten geblieben sind. Sie zeichnen sich bis heute durch ihre Dimension, ihre große Schärfe, Haltbarkeit und Ausstrahlung aus.

Exhibition View: Jakob August Lorent, Calotypes 1853-1861

Exhibition View: Jakob August Lorent, Calotypes 1853-1861

Jakob August Lorent wurde in den USA, Charleston, South Carolina, geboren, kam aber mit fünf Jahren zu einem begüterten Adoptivvater nach Mannheim. Dort wuchs er auf und erwarb 1837 den Doktortitel in Naturwissenschaften. Es folgten die erwähnten Reisen. Für seine Fotografien und Publikationen wurde er vielfach ausgezeichnet und geehrt. Nach 1865 widmete er sich in Deutschland der heimatkundlichen Architekturfotografie. 1873 zieht er, möglicherweise aus gesundheitlichen Gründen, nach Meran. Auch hier fotografierte er wieder, in Meran und der Umgebung. Am 9. Juli 1884 starb Jakob August Lorent in Meran nach einer Lungenentzündung.

Exhibition View: Jakob August Lorent, Calotypes 1853-1861

Exhibition View: Jakob August Lorent, Calotypes 1853-1861

 

Tutela del dati Datenschutzerklarung Privacy Policy