Enrico Pedrotti

Opening: 31.1.17, 7 pm
Exhibition: 1.2. – 11.3.17
Curated by: Valentina Cramerotti

© Federico Pedrotti

© Enrico Pedrotti

The exhibition shows 63 photos, one film and selected press material from the photographer Enrico Pedrotti, who worked in the Trentino South Tyrol region between 1920 and 1960. It is the first extensive opportunity to present Pedrotti’s oeuvre in its entirety. Till now, his work has been known only in specific contexts (mountain, portrait, futurism) and with individual photographs.

The focus of the exhibition is Enrico Pedrotti’s relationship to the ways of working of Italian photographers among the futurists – from Wulz to Parisio, from Castagneri to Tato – as well as to the German New Objectivity scene with its attention to clear forms and details; Pedrotti experienced important impulses from all of them. Accordingly, Pedrotti’s entire artistic development is examined in this exhibition for technical and stylistic borrowings and approaches; events and circumstances, inspirations and boundaries are shown that led him to develop his own personal way of working.

© Federico Pedrotti

© Enrico Pedrotti

The photographs are from his son Luca Pedrotti’s Bolzano archive, which comprises, besides photos and negatives, the majority of the existing portraits and photomontages, as well as the complete fotocollage series that originated in collaboration with Fortunato Depero.

© Federico Pedrotti

© Enrico Pedrotti

The selection of the exhibition highlights, besides his artistic successes, the photographer’s particular skill in reconciling his work as the operator of a photo studio for which all Bolzano knew him with his avant-garde research, which remained largely unnoticed by the public. The latter is what made Enrico Pedrotti as photographer one of the protagonists unleashing a wave of innovation in Italy and abroad in the 1930s. The first prominent mention can be found in the international magazine “Galleria”, which published his photograph “Raccoglimento” in 1934. What is even more significant is the mention of his name in the same year in “Luci ed ombre – Annuario della fotografia artistica italiana” with the print of his photo “Maschera”. This then appeared again in 1943 in the annual publication “Fotografia. Prima rassegna dell’attività fotografica in Italia” released by Domus, a magazine highly respected in the theoretical discourse on modern Italian photography. With the early use of the “high key” technique, which later became one of the main features of “Mediterranean” photography, Pedrotti anticipates by several years the study of the high key in photography, before the well-known group “La Bussola” found their expression of it in their manifesto “Idealism of Photography” in 1947 and in a series of highly to over-exposed photos.

© Federico Pedrotti

© Enrico Pedrotti

There are no documents documenting a relationship to the futuristic avant-garde, but the photographer’s oeuvre repeatedly includes topics and techniques that were dealt with by this group: movement, cars, industry, play of shadows, photomontage and photo collage. The references and the comparable way of working can be clearly ascertained on the basis of a few exemplary works, including “Acrobazia 1” (1928), “Tracce” (1929), “La stazione” (1934) and “Ombre 1” (1938). Noteworthy is the technique applied by Pedrotti of stringing together details of photographs in his photomontages. Here, Dadaist and surrealist influences are brought to bear; it is in any case a distinction as compared to the more frequently applied overlapping of several negatives introduced by the well-known Bragaglia brothers. There is a whole series of examples of this technique in the archive of his son Luca Pedrotti, including “Metropolis” (1928), “Salto triplo” (1936), the design of advertising for Gioventù italiana del Littorio from 1938, and “Scalata alle Dolomiti” (1938). In his collaboration with the artist Fortunato Depero for the fotocollage series in the magazine “Enrosadira. Dolomiti Trento Garda: pubblicazione semestrale del Comitato provinciale per il turismo di Trento”, the photographer reached the zenith of his artistic career: 4 pages in the summer issue of 1939 of the renowned magazine, and above all a joint original (photography by Pedrotti, edited by Depero) that probably remained in the family archive because it was not published on that occasion. It was not the only opportunity for an artistic exchange with Depero, but probably the most outstanding in the context of their collaboration in advertising and print media, which began in 1936 with the magazine “Neve e Ghiaccio” and continued in 1937, designing the exhibition stand for Trentino for the tourism exhibition of Padua, of which Depero owned sketches which now belong to the MART. The connection to the areas of advertising and print media, in which Enrico Pedrotti was interested all his life – ultimately they were the first and only possibilities for him to make his work known to the public – is particularly highlighted in the exhibition. Before the war there were co-operations for advertising campaigns with the brands Pirelli, Motta, Lambretta, Forst and most notably Agfa, with Ferrania from the 1950s, then again with regional tourism associations, for which Pedrotti designed postcards, posters and advertising panels. He had requests from many magazines for their illustrated pages. From “Trentino” to “Dolomiti”, as well as “Enrosadura” and “Neve e Ghiaccio” already referred to: these magazines were for Pedrotti a welcome opportunity to try out new design principles and to show his first attempts in the field of photomontage.

© Federico Pedrotti

© Enrico Pedrotti

Now – against the backdrop of this new and unknown Pedrotti, with the knowledge of one who has already been able to cast a glance at the most remote corner of the workshop – the moment has come to take a look at the more classical, better-known production of Enrico Pedrotti. The portraits, the mountain and industry photography, normally the starting points for Pedrotti’s photography, now appear, for understandable reasons, virtually contemporary works, in any case a far cry from the usual documentary photography of that time. The key is – nomen est omen – the high key: the use of this technique, the brightness, the use of light, the extremely white, shadowless photos, the contours only hinted at are in Pedrotti’s works almost from the start, at any rate long before they became a hallmark of his personal style, and would characterise his work, including the commercial production.
About the portrait Pedrotti himself wrote for Ferrania: “The following applies for the professional: he must continuously raise the standard, the aspiration of his work. From his clientele, too, he should demand the highest standard and thus also have a pedagogic effect, even if his influence is limited. The client that comes into the studio with a magazine in her hand and requests a portrait in a certain technique is not a rarity today. The cinema and the glossy magazines have accomplished a great deal in this area. It is up to us to take this development into account to further educate ourselves, in particular about the accomplishments of cinema, this twin sister of photography.” These reasons influenced the selection of the surprisingly “modern” portraits in the exhibition.
The mountain is depicted in the photographer’s photos by cliffs, woods, clouds in varying rhythms and moods; sometimes the metamorphic element of the photos creates the semblance of alien worlds and dimensions. Long shadows are often the only protagonists on the white coat of snow; they do not disturb the idyll of the landscape, but rather fit into the visual composition in an integrating way, representing the human presence, effects that were consciously tried out in black and white, notwithstanding the rise of colour photography. Mountain climbing as a topic and the increasing popularity of winter sports are typical for the 1930s. Pedrotti followed this evolution closely and documented it not only with a camera – many skiers in action ended up on negatives this way – but also with a film camera. The film “Monologo sul sesto grado” from 1953 can be seen in the exhibition in a last remaining b/w version in 35mm format, owned today by the Film Archive of the Club Alpino Italiano in Milan. In 1954, this film won the “Rododendro d’argento” at the “Film Festival della Montagna di Trento” and was discussed in the magazine “Cinema Nuovo”. This film was inspired by the films of Arnold Fanck and Luis Trenker from the twenties, which have become famous – bringing us once again to the history of European photography.

© Federico Pedrotti

© Enrico Pedrotti

This project on Enrico Pedrotti is the attempt to account for the position as pioneer that he often occupied in Italian photography of the time. The topics and techniques of Pedrotti that are significant for the selection of the exhibition, the colour, the high key, the link between photography and print media, between photography and advertising, and particularly the use of photomontage and photo collage, are consistently the topics and techniques of the avant-garde within the panorama of photography developing in the first half of the 20th century. Enrico Pedrotti grappled with this new direction in Italian photography and achieved significant success without neglecting the commercial aspect of his work. He tried continuously, usually on his own, to expand his horizon and keep himself informed about the newest developments in the country and abroad by travelling frequently and studying the specialist literature on photography. The German scene fascinated him in particular; he found it livelier and more adventurous, which corresponded to his own way of working and which was still lacking in Italy at this time, with the exception of the photodynamism of the Bragaglia brothers, the only truly pioneering innovation in the national area.
Even if Pedrotti did not clearly identify with a direction or movement – one should not necessarily assign him to one of the movements emerging at that time – he succeeded in taking into account the significant innovations and discourses of the 1930s in his work in a personal way that was never superficial, developing his own signature style in the context of his immediate surroundings and the time he was active – and in fact beyond that.

© Federico Pedrotti

© Enrico Pedrotti

Valentina Cramerotti

Enrico Pedrotti, Opening 31.1.2017 foto-forum, photo: Claudia Corrent

Enrico Pedrotti, Opening 31.1.2017 foto-forum, photo: Claudia Corrent

Enrico Pedrotti, Opening 31.1.2017 foto-forum, photo: Claudia Corrent

Enrico Pedrotti, Opening 31.1.2017 foto-forum, photo: Claudia Corrent

Enrico Pedrotti, Opening 31.1.2017 foto-forum, photo: Claudia Corrent

Enrico Pedrotti, Opening 31.1.2017 foto-forum, photo: Claudia Corrent

Enrico Pedrotti, Opening 31.1.2017 foto-forum, photo: Claudia Corrent

Enrico Pedrotti, Opening 31.1.2017 foto-forum, Luca Pedrotti & Valentina Cramerotti, photo: Claudia Corrent

Enrico Pedrotti, exhibition view, photo: Claudia Corrent

Enrico Pedrotti, exhibition view, photo: Claudia Corrent

Enrico Pedrotti, exhibition view, photo: Claudia Corrent

 

Enrico Pedrotti, exhibition view, photo: Claudia Corrent

Tutela del dati Datenschutzerklarung Privacy Policy

Enrico Pedrotti

Opening: 31.1.17, 19 Uhr
Ausstellung: 1.2. – 11.3.17
Kuratorin: Valentina Cramerotti

© Federico Pedrotti

© Enrico Pedrotti

 

Die Ausstellung zeigt 63 Bilder, einen Film und ausgewähltes Pressematerial des zwischen 1920 und 1960 in der Region Trentino Südtirol arbeitenden Fotografen Enrico Pedrotti. Es ist dies die erste umfassende Gelegenheit, das Werk Pedrottis, das bislang nur in spezifischen Kontexten (Berg, Porträt, Futurismus) und anhand einzelner Fotografien bekannt war, in seiner Gesamtheit darzustellen.

Im Fokus der Ausstellung steht Enrico Pedrottis Verhältnis zu den Arbeitsweisen der italienischen Fotografen unter den Futuristen von Wulz zu Parisio und von Castagneri zu Tato wie auch zur deutschen Szene der Neuen Sachlichkeit mit ihrer Aufmerksamkeit für klare Formen und Details, woher Pedrotti wichtige Impulse erfuhr. Pedrottis gesamter künstlerischer Verlauf wird in der Ausstellung entsprechend auf seine technischen und stilistischen Anleihen und Annäherungen hin untersucht und es werden die Anlässe und Umstände, die Anregungen und Abgrenzungen aufgezeigt, die ihn dazu geführt haben, seine persönliche Arbeitsweise zu entwickeln.

© Federico Pedrotti

© Enrico Pedrotti

Die Fotografien stammen aus dem Bozner Archiv des Sohnes Luca Pedrotti. Es umfasst neben den Fotos und Negativen auch den Großteil der bestehenden Porträts und Fotomontagen, sowie die komplette Serie der in Zusammenarbeit mit Fortunato Depero entstandenen „fotocollage“.

© Federico Pedrotti

© Enrico Pedrotti

Die Auswahl der Ausstellung hebt neben den künstlerischen Erfolgen die besondere Fähigkeit des Fotografen hervor, seine Tätigkeit als Betreiber eines Fotoateliers, wofür ihn ganz Bozen kannte, mit seinen avantgardistischen Recherchen in Einklang zu bringen, die der Öffentlichkeit weitgehend verborgen blieben. Letztere sind es, die Enrico Pedrotti als Fotografen zu einem jener Protagonisten machen, die in Italien und im Ausland der 30er Jahre eine Welle der Erneuerung lostraten. Die erste prominente Erwähnung findet sich in der internationalen Zeitschrift „Galleria“, die 1934 seine Fotografie „Raccoglimento“ publiziert. Noch bedeutender ist im selben Jahr die Erwähnung seines Namens in „Luci ed ombre – Annuario della fotografia artistica italiana“ mit dem Abdruck des Fotos „Maschera”. Dieses erscheint noch einmal im Jahr 1943 in der von Domus herausgegebenen Jahresschrift „Fotografia. Prima rassegna dell’attività fotografica in Italia“, einem im Bereich des theoretischen Diskurses zur modernen italienischen Fotografie sehr angesehenen Magazin. Mit dem frühen Einsatz der High Key Technik, die später zu einem der Hauptmerkmale der „mediterranen“ Fotografie wurde, antizipiert Pedrotti die Beschäftigung mit dem „High Key“ in der Fotografie um einige Jahre, bevor sie von der bekannten Gruppe „La Bussola“ in ihrem Manifest „Idealismus der Fotografie“ von 1947 und in einer Reihe von stark bis überbelichteten Fotos Ausdruck fand.

© Federico Pedrotti

© Enrico Pedrotti

Es existieren zwar keine Dokumente, die eine Beziehung zur futuristischen Avantgarde belegen könnten, dennoch finden sich im Werk des Fotografen immer wieder die von dieser Gruppe behandelten Themen und Techniken: Bewegung, Autos, Industrie, Schattenspiele, Fotomontage und -collage. Die Bezüge und die vergleichbare Arbeitsweise lassen sich anhand einiger exemplarischer Arbeiten deutlich feststellen, u.a. bei „Acrobazia 1“ (1928),  „Tracce“ (1929), „La stazione“ (1934), und „Ombre 1“ (1938). Herausragend ist die von Pedrotti angewandte Technik der Aneinanderreihung von Ausschnitten aus Fotografien in seinen Fotomontagen. Hier kommen dadaistische und surrealistische Einflüsse zum Tragen, jedenfalls eine Abgrenzung zu der häufiger angewandten Überlagerung mehrerer Negative, wie sie von den bekannten F.lli Bragaglia eingeführt wurde. Im Archiv des Sohnes Luca Pedrotti finden sich eine ganze Reihe von Beispielen für diese Technik, u.a. „Metropolis“ (1928), „Salto triplo“ (1936), die Gestaltung der Werbung für die Gioventù italiana del Littorio von 1938 und „Scalata alle Dolomiti“ (1938). In der Zusammenarbeit mit dem Künstler Fortunato Depero für die Serie fotocollage der Zeitschrift „Enrosadira. Dolomiti Trento Garda: pubblicazione semestrale del Comitato provinciale per il turismo di Trento“ erreicht der Fotograf den Höhepunkt seiner künstlerischen Laufbahn: 4 Seiten in der Sommerausgabe des Jahres 1939 des renommierten Magazins und vor allem ein gemeinsames Original (Fotografie von Pedrotti, bearbeitet von Depero), das wahrscheinich deshalb im Familienarchiv verblieb, weil es zum damaligen Anlass nicht publiziert wurde. Es war nicht die einzige Gelegenheit zum künstlerischen Austausch mit Depero, aber wohl die herausragendste im Kontext ihrer Zusammenarbeit im Bereich Werbung und Printmedien, die 1936 mit der Zeitschrift „Neve e Ghiaccio“ begann und dann 1937 mit der Gestaltung des Messestands für das Trentino für die Tourismus Ausstellung von Padua fortgesetzt wurde, wovon Depero Entwürfe besaß, die heute dem MART angehören. Gerade der Bezug zu den Bereichen Werbung und Printmedien, für die Enrico Pedrotti ein Leben lang großes Interesse hatte – schließlich waren es die ersten und einzigen Möglichkeiten für ihn, seine Arbeit in der Öffentlichkeit bekannt zu machen -, wird in der Ausstellung besonders hervorgehoben. Kooperationen für Werbekampagnen gab es vor dem Krieg mit den Marken Pirelli, Motta, Lambretta, Forst und vor allem mit Agfa, mit Ferrania ab den 50er Jahren, andererseits mit regionalen Tourismusverbänden, für die Pedrotti Postkarten, Plakate und Werbeflächen gestaltete. Zahlreich angefragt wurde er auch von vielen Zeitschriften für ihre illustrierten Seiten. Von „Trentino“ zu „Dolomiti“ bis zu den bereits zitierten „Enrosadura“ und „Neve e Ghiaccio“: Diese Zeitschriften waren für Pedrotti eine willkommene Gelegenheit, neue Gestaltungsprinzipien auszuprobieren und seine ersten Versuche im Bereich der Fotomontage zu zeigen.

© Federico Pedrotti

© Enrico Pedrotti

Nun, vor dem Hintergrund dieses neuen und unbekannten Pedrotti, mit dem Wissen desjenigen, der bereits einen Blick in die hintersten Winkel der Werkstatt werfen durfte, ist der Moment gekommen, auf die klassischere und bekanntere Produktion von Enrico Pedrotti zu schauen. Die Porträts, die Berg- und die Industriefotografie, normalerweise die Ausgangspunkte der Fotografie Pedrottis, erscheinen nun, aus nachvollziehbaren Gründen, als geradezu zeitgenössische Werke, jedenfalls weit entfernt von der gewöhnlichen Dokumentarfotografie jener Zeit. Der Schlüssel dazu ist, nomen est omen, der High Key: Die Verwendung dieser Technik, die Helligkeit, der Einsatz des Lichtes, die extrem weißen, schattenlosen Bilder, die nur angedeuteten Konturen sind in den Arbeiten Pedrottis beinah von Anfang an vorhanden, jedenfalls lang bevor sie zu einem Markenzeichen seines persönlichen Stils werden und seine Arbeit einschließlich der kommerziellen Produktion prägen werden.

Über das Porträt schreibt Pedrotti selbst für Ferrania: „Für den Profi gilt Folgendes: Er muss den Standard, den Anspruch seiner Arbeit immer mehr anheben. Auch von seiner Kundschaft sollte er den höchsten Anspruch einfordern und somit auch erzieherisch wirken, mag sein Einfluss auch begrenzt sein. Die Kundin, die mit einer Zeitschrift in der Hand ins Atelier kommt und ein Porträt in einer bestimmten Technik verlangt, ist heute keine Seltenheit. Das Kino und die Illustrierten haben auf diesem Gebiet viel bewirkt. Es liegt an uns, dieser Entwicklung Rechnung zu tragen und uns insbesondere durch die Errungenschaften des Kinos, dieser Zwillingsschwester der Fotografie, fortzubilden.“ Dies die Gründe, die die Auswahl der überraschend „modernen“ Porträts in der Ausstellung beeinflusst haben.

Der Berg wird in den Bildern des Fotografen durch Felsen, Wälder, Wolken in unterschiedlichen Rhythmen und Stimmungen dargestellt, manchmal erzeugt das Metamorphe der Bilder den Anschein fremder Welten und Dimensionen. Lange Schatten sind häufig die einzigen Protagonisten auf dem weißen Mantel des Schnees, sie stören das Idyll der Landschaft nicht, sondern fügen sich  stellvertretend für die menschliche Anwesenheit integrierend in die Bildkomposition ein, Effekte, die bewusst in schwarz/weiß erprobt wurden, ungeachtet des Aufkommens der Farbfotografie. Das Thema Bergsteigen und die zunehmende Popularität des Wintersports sind für die 30er Jahre des zwanzigsten Jahrhunderts kennzeichnend. Pedrotti verfolgt diese Entwicklung aus der Nähe und dokumentiert sie nicht nur mit dem Fotoapparat – viele Skiläufer in Aktion wurden derart ins Negativ gebannt -, sondern auch mit der Filmkamera. In der Ausstellung zu sehen ist der Film „Monologo sul sesto grado“ von 1953 in einer letzten verbliebenen s/w Fassung im Format 35mm, heute im Besitz des Filmarchivs des Mailänder CAI.  Dieser Film gewann 1954 den „Rododendro d’argento“ beim „Filmfestival della Montagna di Trento“ und wurde in der Zeitschrift „Cinema Nuovo“ besprochen. Angeregt wurde dieser Streifen durch die berühmt gewordenen Filme der zwanziger Jahre von Arnold Fanck und Luis Trenker, womit wir wieder bei der Geschichte der europäischen Fotografie angelangt sind.

© Federico Pedrotti

© Enrico Pedrotti

Dieses Projekt zu Enrico Pedrotti ist der Versuch, seine oftmals als Vorreiter eingenommene Position innerhalb der damaligen italienischen Fotografie auszumachen. Die für die Auswahl der Ausstellung maßgeblichen Themen und Techniken Pedrottis, die Farbe, der High Key, die Verbindung von Fotografie und Druckmedien, von Fotografie und Werbung und vor allem die Verwendung der Fotomontage und der Fotocollage, sind durchwegs auch die Themen und Techniken der Avantgarde innerhalb des sich in der ersten Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts herausbildenden Panoramas der Fotografie. Enrico Pedrotti setzte sich mit dieser neuen Richtung der italienischen Fotografie auseinander und erzielte beachtliche Erfolge, ohne den gewerblichen Aspekt seiner Arbeit zu vernachlässigen. Kontinuierlich versuchte er, meist im Alleingang, seinen Horizont zu erweitern und hielt sich, indem er viel reiste und die Fachliteratur zur Fotografie studierte, über die neuesten Entwicklungen im In- und Ausland auf dem Laufenden. Die deutsche Szene faszinierte ihn besonders, sie war für ihn lebendiger und experimentierfreudiger, was seiner eigenen Arbeitsweise entsprach und in dieser Zeit in Italien noch fehlte, mit Ausnahme des Fotodynamismus der Bragaglia, jener einzig wirklich bahnbrechenden Neuerung auf nationalem Gebiet.

Erkennt sich Pedrotti auch nicht eindeutig zu einer Strömung oder Bewegung zugehörig – man sollte ihn also auch nicht zwingend einer der damals aufkommenden zuordnen -, ist es ihm gelungen, die maßgeblichen Neuerungen und Diskurse der 30er Jahren in seinem Werk auf persönliche, niemals oberflächliche Weise zu berücksichtigen und seine eigene Handschrift im Kontext seiner unmittelbaren Umgebung und der Zeit seines Wirkens, und eigentlich darüber hinaus zu entwickeln.

© Federico Pedrotti

© Enrico Pedrotti

 

Valentina Cramerotti

 

Enrico Pedrotti, Opening 31.1.2017 foto-forum, photo: Claudia Corrent

Enrico Pedrotti, Opening 31.1.2017 foto-forum, photo: Claudia Corrent

Enrico Pedrotti, Opening 31.1.2017 foto-forum, photo: Claudia Corrent

Enrico Pedrotti, Opening 31.1.2017 foto-forum, photo: Claudia Corrent

Enrico Pedrotti, Opening 31.1.2017 foto-forum, photo: Claudia Corrent

Enrico Pedrotti, Opening 31.1.2017 foto-forum, photo: Claudia Corrent

Enrico Pedrotti, Opening 31.1.2017 foto-forum, photo: Claudia Corrent

Enrico Pedrotti, Opening 31.1.2017 foto-forum, Luca Pedrotti & Valentina Cramerotti, photo: Claudia Corrent

Enrico Pedrotti, exhibition view, photo: Claudia Corrent

Enrico Pedrotti, exhibition view, photo: Claudia Corrent

Enrico Pedrotti, exhibition view, photo: Claudia Corrent

Enrico Pedrotti, exhibition view, photo: Claudia Corrent

Tutela del dati Datenschutzerklarung Privacy Policy