Workshop: Laia Abril “Research + narratives&platforms”

Workshop: dates to be confirmed

Laia Abril

Research + narratives&platforms
Workshop with Laia Abril
This workshop led by Laia Abril aims to provide participants a series of tools and strategies to enhance the investigation and construction of their narratives within their own projects. Abril’s work research-based revolves around conceptualization and interpretation of facts, working with photography, video and mixed media installations. Trained as a journalist and through her experience as a photographer, bookmaker and art director, Abril has developed a collaborative creative method to construct, analyse and refine narratives across a number of platforms. Examples of her work methodology will act as triggers for participants to think laterally about their own projects. The workshop also considers how a combination of different media such as photography, design, text, film or illustration can transform an idea into a wider artistic project. Participants are encouraged to bring to the workshop an existing body of work, a book mock-up or installation proposal that they would like to evolve beyond the scope of photography. Projects or ideas at an earlier stage could focus more on the generation of a research work plan rather than analyzing and editing the existing content.

Sign Up: info@foto-forum.it
Participants: min 10 max 12
Language: English
Date: To be confirmed
Location: Foto Forum, Bozen, Italy
Address: via Weggenstein-Straße 3f
Time: Saturday 10 am – 1 pm, 2 pm – 7 pm, Sunday: 10 am – 2 pm
Fee: €200
Early bird discount: 10%

 

Laia Abril (Barcelona, 1986) is a photographer, bookmaker and visual artist from Barcelona. After graduating in Journalism in Barcelona and studying photography in New York; she enrolled FABRICA’s artist residency where she worked at COLORS Magazine as a creative editor and staff photographer for 5 years.
Her projects have been shown internationally and her work is held in private and public collections including Musée de l’Elysée, Winterthur Museum in Switzerland or MNAC in Barcelona. In 2015 she was nominated for Foam’s Paul Huf Award and the Joop Swart Masterclass in 2014, and more recently she has been awarded with Premio Revelación PhotoEspaña and the Madame Figaro – Rencontres Arles award for her exhibition A History of Misogyny, chapter one: On Abortion.
She self-published Thinspiration in 2012, Tediousphilia (Musée de l’Elysée, 2014) and The Epilogue (Dewi Lewis, 2014), which was highly acclaimed and shortlisted for the ParisPhoto-Aperture First Book Award, Kassel PhotoBook Festival and Photo España Best Book Award. Her book-project Lobismuller (RM, 2016) won the Images Book Award and was presented in Paris Photo 2016.

Tutela del dati Datenschutzerklarung Privacy Policy

Workshop: Laia Abril „Research + narratives&platforms“

Workshop: 17. + 18.2.2018

Laia Abril

Forschung + Erzählungen und Plattformen
Workshop mit Laia Abril
Dieser Workshop unter der Leitung von Laia Abril zielt darauf ab, den Teilnehmern eine Reihe von Werkzeugen und Strategien zur Verfügung zu stellen, um die Erforschung und Konstruktion ihrer Erzählungen in ihren eigenen Projekten zu verbessern. Abrils forschungsbasierte Arbeit dreht sich um die Konzeptualisierung und Interpretation von Fakten und sie nutzt dafür Foto-, Video- und Mixed-Media-Installationen. Ausgebildet als Journalistin und durch ihre Erfahrung als Fotografin, Buchmacherin und Art Director hat Abril eine kollaborative kreative Methode entwickelt, um Erzählungen auf einer Reihe von Plattformen zu konstruieren, zu analysieren und zu verfeinern. Beispiele ihrer Arbeitsmethodik werden den Teilnehmern als Auslöser dienen, über ihre eigenen Projekte nachzudenken. Der Workshop untersucht auch, wie eine Kombination verschiedener Medien wie Fotografie, Design, Text, Film oder Illustration eine Idee in ein breiteres künstlerisches Projekt verwandeln kann. Die Teilnehmer werden eingeladen, ein bestehendes Werk, einen Buchdummy oder einen Installationsvorschlag zum Workshop mitzubringen, die sie über den Bereich der Fotografie hinaus entwickeln möchten. Projekte oder Ideen in einem früheren Stadium könnten sich eher auf die Erstellung eines Forschungsarbeitsplans konzentrieren.

 

Anmeldung: info@foto-forum.it (bis 11.2.18)
Teilnehmer: 10-12
Sprache: Englisch
Datum: 17.+ 18.2.2018
Location: Foto Forum, Bozen, Italien
Adresse: Weggensteinstraße 3f
Uhrzeit: Samstag 10-13, 14-19, Sonntag 10-14
Kosten: €200
Early bird discount: 10% bis 3.2.2018
Die Anmeldung wird erst mit der Bezahlung bestätigt.

 

Laia Abril (Barcelona, ​​1986) ist Fotografin, Buchmacherin und bildende Künstlerin aus Barcelona. Nach ihrem Abschluss in Journalismus in Barcelona und dem Studium der Fotografie in New York schrieb sie sich bei der Künstlerresidenz von FABRICA ein, wo sie 5 Jahre lang als kreative Redakteurin und Staff-Fotografin beim COLORS Magazine arbeitete.
Ihre Projekte wurden international gezeigt und ihre Arbeiten sind Teil von privaten und öffentlichen Sammlungen, darunter das Musée de l’Elysée, das Winterthur Museum in der Schweiz oder MNAC in Barcelona. 2015 wurde sie für Foam’s Paul Huf Award nominiert und 2014 für die Joop Swart Masterclass. In jüngerer Zeit wurde sie mit dem Premio Revelación PhotoEspaña und dem Madame Figaro – Rencontres Arles Preis für ihre Ausstellung A History of Misogyny, chapter one: On Abortion ausgezeichnet.
Sie veröffentlichte 2012 im Selbstverlag Thinspiration, Tediousphilia (Musée de l’Elysée, 2014) und The Epilogue (Dewi Lewis, 2014), das für den ParisPhoto-Aperture First Book Award, Kassel PhotoBook Festival und Photo España Best Book Award hoch gelobt und gelistet wurde. Ihr Buchprojekt Lobisuller (RM, 2016) gewann den Images Book Award und wurde in Paris Photo 2016 präsentiert.

 

Tutela del dati Datenschutzerklarung Privacy Policy