LIKE CHEWING GUM ON ASPHALT – LIKE CHEWING GUM ON ASPHALT CROSSING THE CITY IN THREE ACTS

A project in three parts in collaboration with Foto Forum and Bolzanism Museum
28.9 – 16.10 LIKE CHEWING GUM ON ASPHALT exhibition at Foto Forum with works from Antonio Dalle Nogare’s private collection, curated by Nicolò Degiorgis
2.10 workshop of urban photography in Don Bosco and Europa-Novacella with Bolzanism Museum
15.10 – 6.11 final exhibition with results of the workshop at Fondazione Antonio Dalle Nogare

LIKE CHEWING GUM ON ASPHALT – CROSSING THE CITY IN THREE ACTS

 

The collaboration between Foto Forum, Bolzanism Museum and Fondazione Antonio Dalle Nogare aims to (re)discover the city of Bolzano, diving deep into the world of analog photography. The project is divided into three chapters: a photography exhibition at Foto Forum, a workshop of urban photography, discovering the neighbourhoods of Bolzano West – in collaboration with Bolzanism Museum – and a final exhibition at Fondazione Antonio Dalle Nogare, which will display the images produced by the workshop participants.

I
Antonio Dalle Nogare’s private collection gathers several photographic works dedicated to urban landscapes and to the sociological meaning these buildings hold in the context of a city. Starting from a selection of these works, Foto Forum will present an exhibition curated by Nicolò Degiorgis. The show seeks to analyze the gaze of different masters of photography on the urban landscape, analyzing them from two opposite but interconnected perspectives: the vertical and the horizontal one. Conceived as a mapping of the urban landscape, the exhibition will feature works from Antonio Dalle Nogare’s private collection, including Gordon Matta Clark, Dan Graham, Zoe Leonard, Michael Schmidt and Thomas Struth.

II
Following the exhibition at Foto Forum, there will be a practical workshop based on the topics discussed in the show. Starting with a meeting at the gallery, the curator will introduce the artworks and the techniques used by the featured photographers. The participants will then have the opportunity to look at the exhibition individually.
The goal is to reclaim public space after months of isolation within one’s own four walls. The workshop’s participants will walk together from Foto Forum, in the heart of the historic center, to Bolzano West, in the neighborhood of Don Bosco. The entire experience is conceived as one long performance. People taking part to the workshop will literally walk through the historical and architectural development of the city of Bolzano – from the Middle Ages to the industrial times, armed with a disposable camera. Members of the Bolzanism Museum team and photography experts from Foto Forum will accompany the two groups. Goal of the walk: arriving to the neighborhoods of Don Bosco and Europa-Neustift, in order to discover this part of the city through the lens of the camera.

III
The Antonio Dalle Nogare Foundation will exhibit the photographic works resulting from the workshop attendees. The black box of the Foundation will become a magnifying glass, pointed towards the urban landscape of Bolzano West. Together with the images resulting from the workshop, the exhibition will display documents, models and other objects that tell the story of urban planning and thus the story of the city of a thousand faces, the city of Bolzano.

Transparency

Privacy Policy Cookie Policy

LIKE CHEWING GUM ON ASPHALT – LIKE CHEWING GUM ON ASPHALT CROSSING THE CITY IN THREE ACTS

Ein Projekt in drei Teilen in Zusammenarbeit mit Foto Forum und Bolzanism Museum
28.9 – 16.10 LIKE CHEWING GUM ON ASPHALT Ausstellung mit Arbeiten der privaten Sammlung von Antonio Dalle Nogare im Foto Forum, kuratiert von Nicolò Degiorgis
2.10 – workshop für urbane Fotografie in den Vierteln Don Bosco und Europa-Neustift mit Bolzanism Museum
15.10 – 6.11 finale Ausstellung mit Resultaten des Workshops in der Antonio Dalle Nogare Stiftung

LIKE CHEWING GUM ON ASPHALT – CROSSING THE CITY IN THREE ACTS

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Foto Forum, Bolzanism Museum und der Antonio Dalle Nogare Stiftung ist der (Wieder-)Entdeckung der Stadt Bozen und dem Eintauchen in die Welt der analogen Fotografie gewidmet. Das Projekt ist in drei Kapitel gegliedert: eine Fotografie Ausstellung im Foto Forum, ein Workshop für urbane Fotografie und Entdeckung der Viertel von Bozen West – in Zusammenarbeit mit Bolzanism Museum – und eine finale Ausstellung in der Antonio Dalle Nogare Stiftung um die Resultate der Workshop-Teilnehmer*innen zu zeigen.

I
Die Privatsammlung von Antonio Dalle Nogare enthält eine Reihe von fotografischen Arbeiten, die urbanen Räumen und deren soziologischer Bedeutung gewidmet sind. Ausgehend von einer Auswahl dieser Werke wird Foto Forum eine Ausstellung präsentieren, die von Nicolò Degiorgis kuratiert wird. Die Ausstellung analysiert den fotografischen Blick bekannter Künstler*innen mit einer Vorliebe für den urbanen Raum aus zwei entgegengesetzten, aber stets miteinander verbundenen Perspektiven: der vertikalen und der horizontalen. Die Ausstellung, die als Mapping der Stadtlandschaft konzipiert ist, zeigt Werke aus der Privatsammlung von Antonio Dalle Nogare, darunter Gordon Matta Clark, Dan Graham, Zoe Leonard, Michael Schmidt und Thomas Struth.

II
Im Anschluss an die Ausstellung im Foto Forum findet ein praktischer Workshop zu den in der Ausstellung behandelten Themen statt. Der Tag beginnt mit einem Treffen im Foto Forum, wo der Kurator in die Werke und die verwendeten Techniken der Künstler*innen einführen wird. Die Teilnehmer*innen können sich dann mit Ruhe individuell die Ausstellung anschauen.
Es geht darum sich nach Monaten der Isolation in den eigenen vier Wänden den öffentlichen Raum wieder anzueignen. Die Teilnehmer*innen werden vom Foto Forum, im Herzen der Altstadt, nach Bozen West, im Stadtteil Don Bosco, wandern. Der gesamte Workshop ist als eine lange Performance konzipiert. Ausgerüstet mit einer Wegwerfkamera laufen die Teilnehmer*innen dabei buchstäblich durch die historische und architektonische Entwicklung der Stadt Bozen- vom Mittelalter zur Industriestadt. Begleitet werden sie dabei vom Team von Bolzanism Museum und den Fotograf*innen von Foto Forum. Ziel der Wanderung: die Viertel Don Bosco und Europa-Neustift, um diesen Teil der Stadt durch die Linse der eigenen Kamera zu entdecken.

III
Die Antonio Dalle Nogare Stiftung stellt zu guter Letzt die fotografischen Arbeiten der Workshop-Teilnehmer*innen aus. Die black box der Stiftung wird dabei zur Lupe auf die Zone Bozen West. Zusammen mit den Ergebnissen des Workshops werden Dokumente, Modelle und andere Objekte ausgestellt, die die Geschichte der Stadtplanung und damit die Geschichte dieser Stadt der tausend Gesichtern, der Stadt Bozen, erzählen.

 

 

Für den Besuch der Ausstellung gelten die aktuellen Covid-19 Bestimmungen. Wir bitten Sie daher, Ihren Green Pass und die Maske mitzubringen. Danke

 

 

Transparency

Datenschutzerklarung Cookie Policy