Exhibition: Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education

Opening: 22.2.2022, 7 pm
Exhibition: 23.2. – 26.3.2022

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy)

 

A Sensitive Education explores, through the figure of bird educator Tristan Plot, the possibilities of empathy between different natural species. The narrative, far from being a naturalist documentation, is rather focused on the emotional sphere and sensitivity of birds and humans. The photographic research develops in resonance with the delicacy of this wordless dialogue.

Tristan is a bird educator specialist in soft methods. He prepares birds for participation in theatre and dance performances or film documentaries. He also works on the new concept of ornitotherapy and mediation through the animal, creating contact between birds and people with disabilities, the elderly, prisoners, in order to promote new sensations and create a deep reconciliation between birds and humans.

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy)

When he was a child, in the forest behind his parents’ house in the Touraine, Tristan noticed that, if he remained still for a long time, the animals came out of the vegetation and it was possible to observe them. Even today, this practice of slow approach, respecting the rhythm of nature, remains essential to his educational method.

Having studied ecology, biology and ethology at the university, he developed an educational technique at the intersection of imprinting, traditional training and positive training. His method is a set of observation and predisposition of mind in harmony with the environment, according to the sensitivity of the other and in relation to expression and behavior codes which are different from the human ones.

Tristan, through the intuition of animality as something delicate, subtle and minimal, defines the relationship with birds as an exclusive bond able to reconcile the rhythm of the species with the individual one. His research is based on the understanding of the sensitivity of birds and aims to recover that ability, which got lost over the course of evolution, of perceiving the minimal variations and micro movements that are the expressive world of animals.

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy)

BIOGRAPHY

Francesca Todde is a photographer, designer and publisher, based in Milano (Italy).

Her research focuses on the invisible elements of relationships, sometimes crossing stories of sharing with animals. Her practice is not limited to photography but includes in the creative process the editorial aspect and the diffusion in printed form. Her work is represented by Contrasto.

She co-founded with the artist Luca Reffo the publishing house Départ Pour l’Image.

Selected publications include: British Journal of Photography, 6Mois, Le Monde, M le Magazine du Monde, DLui di Repubblica, Fisheye, Vogue, Zadig, Yet magazine.

Her works have been exhibited in France, Italy, Finland, Switzerland and Spain.

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy), 2022, exhibition view: Samira Mosca

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy), 2022, exhibition view: Samira Mosca

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy), 2022, exhibition view: Samira Mosca

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy), 2022, exhibition view: Samira Mosca

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy), 2022, exhibition view: Samira Mosca

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy), 2022, exhibition view: Samira Mosca

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy), 2022, exhibition view: Samira Mosca

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy), 2022, exhibition view: Samira Mosca

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy), 2022, exhibition view: Samira Mosca

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy), 2022, exhibition view: Samira Mosca

In collaboration with Départ Pour L’Image

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Transparency

Privacy Policy Cookie Policy

Exhibition: Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education

Eröffnung: 22.2.2022, 19:00 Uhr
Ausstellung: 23.2. – 26.3.2022

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy)

A Sensitive Education erforscht anhand der Figur des Vogelerziehers Tristan Plot die Möglichkeiten der Empathie zwischen verschiedenen natürlichen Arten. Dabei handelt es sich jedoch keineswegs um eine naturalistische Dokumentation; die Erzählung konzentriert sich vielmehr auf die emotionale Sphäre und die Sensibilität von Vögeln und Menschen. Die fotografische Recherche entwickelt sich im Einklang mit dem Feingefühl dieses wortlosen Dialogs.

Tristan ist ein auf sanfte Methoden spezialisierter Vogelerzieher. Er bereitet Vögel für die Teilnahme an Theater und Tanzaufführungen oder Dokumentarfilmen vor. Zudem beschäftigt er sich mit dem neuen Konzept der Ornithotherapie und der Mediation durch das Tier, indem er Kontakte zwischen Vögeln und Menschen mit Behinderungen, älteren Menschen und Gefangenen herstellt, um neue Empfindungen zu fördern und Vögel und Menschen auszusöhnen.

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy)

Als Kind bemerkte Tristan im Wald hinter seinem Elternhaus in der Touraine, dass die Tiere hinter der Vegetation hervorkamen, wenn er lange stillstand, und dass man sie beobachten konnte. Diese langsame Annäherung, die den Rhythmus der Natur respektiert, ist heute ein wesentlicher Bestandteil seiner Erziehungsmethode.

Nachdem er an der Universität Ökologie, Biologie und Ethologie studiert hatte, entwickelte Tristan eine Erziehungsmethode, die sich an der Schnittstelle zwischen Prägung, traditioneller Dressur und positivem Training befindet. Seine Methode basiert auf einer Reihe von Beobachtungen und Veranlagungen in Harmonie mit der Umwelt, entsprechend der Sensibilität des Anderen und in Bezug auf die Ausdrucks und Verhaltensweisen, die sich von den menschlichen unterscheiden.

Tristan erfasst das tierische Wesen intuitiv als etwas Feinfühliges, Subtiles, und definiert die Beziehung zu den Vögeln als eine exklusive Bindung, die in der Lage ist, den Rhythmus der Spezies mit dem des Individuums in Einklang zu bringen. Seine Forschung basiert auf dem Verständnis der Sensibilität der Vögel und zielt darauf ab, die im Laufe der Evolution verloren gegangene Fähigkeit wiederzuerlangen, die minimalen Veränderungen und Mikrobewegungen wahrzunehmen, durch die sich die Tiere ausdrücken.

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy)

BIOGRAFIE

Francesca Todde ist als Fotografin, Designerin und Verlegerin tätig und lebt in Mailand (Italien).

Ihre Recherche konzentriert sich auf die unsichtbaren Elemente von Beziehungen, die manchmal auch Geschichten über den Austausch mit Tieren umfassen. In ihrer praktischen Arbeit beschränkt sie sich nicht auf die Fotografie, sondern lässt in den kreativen Prozess auch verlegerische Aspekte und die Verbreitung in gedruckter Form einfließen. Als Fotografin wird sie durch die Agentur Contrasto vertreten.

Gemeinsam mit dem Künstler Luca Reffo gründete Francesca Todde den Verlag Départ Pour l’Image.

Zu den ausgewählten Veröffentlichungen zählen: British Journal of Photography, 6Mois, Le Monde, M le Magazine du Monde, DLui di Repubblica, Fisheye, Vogue, Zadig, Yet magazine.

Ihre Arbeiten wurden in Italien, Frankreich, Finnland, der Schweiz und Spanien ausgestellt.

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy), 2022, exhibition view: Samira Mosca

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy), 2022, exhibition view: Samira Mosca

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy), 2022, exhibition view: Samira Mosca

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy), 2022, exhibition view: Samira Mosca

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy), 2022, exhibition view: Samira Mosca

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy), 2022, exhibition view: Samira Mosca

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy), 2022, exhibition view: Samira Mosca

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy), 2022, exhibition view: Samira Mosca

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy), 2022, exhibition view: Samira Mosca

Francesca Todde – A Sensitive Education, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy), 2022, exhibition view: Samira Mosca

In collaboration with Départ Pour L’Image

Transparency

Datenschutzerklarung Cookie Policy