Exhibition: Viviane Sassen – Stanze

Opening: 25.10.2022, 7pm
Exhibition: 26.10. – 10.12.2022

Nepenthes Alata, 2017. © Viviane Sassen. Courtesy of Stevenson, Cape Town, Johannesburg, Amsterdam

Foto Forum Bolzano presents Stanze by Viviane Sassen, an exhibition bringing together images from –  Flamboya, Parasomnia, Pikin Slee, Umbra and Of Mud and Lotus.

Works from different chapters in the artist’s oeuvre intertwine in configurations prompted by affinity of shapes, colours and oneiric atmospheres; the gallery walls are each a self-contained visual poem, a stanza in which the images are words and sequences have their own distinct rhythm. 

Influx, 2017. © Viviane Sassen. Courtesy of Stevenson, Cape Town, Johannesburg, Amsterdam

Sassen’s photographs constantly disrupt our usual perceptions because some are carefully constructed while others are incidental scenes, leaving us unsure which are her imaginary fictions and which scenes from life. The ambiguity between realism and abstraction, characteristic of her work, emerges in the play of juxtapositions and associations, bringing to the fore the surrealist’s influences in her practice, in a conversation on transformations  and disguise.

In Sassen’s words:

“I love the fluidity of what photography can be. I’m intrigued by how you can take an image out of its original context and make it into something else, and then bring it somewhere else again. The meaning of the image can change if you put it in a different context. I’ve often referred to my images as words or sentences and you can make different stories or poems with them.”

X, 2017. © Viviane Sassen. Courtesy of Stevenson, Cape Town, Johannesburg, Amsterdam

 

 

Transparency

Privacy Policy Cookie Policy

Exhibition: Viviane Sassen – Stanze

Opening: 25.10.2022, 19 Uhr
Ausstellung: 26.10. – 10.12.2022

Nepenthes Alata, 2017. © Viviane Sassen. Courtesy of Stevenson, Cape Town, Johannesburg, Amsterdam

Foto Forum Bozen präsentiert Stanze von Viviane Sassen, eine Ausstellung, die Bilder aus Flamboya, Parasomnia, Pikin Slee, Umbra und Of Mud and Lotus vereint.

Werke aus verschiedenen Kapiteln des Œuvre der Künstlerin verflechten sich in Konfigurationen, die sich durch die Ähnlichkeit von Formen, Farben und traumhaften Atmosphären ergeben. Die Wände der Galerie sind jeweils ein in sich geschlossenes visuelles Gedicht, eine Strophe, in der die Bilder Worte sind und die Sequenzen ihren eigenen Rhythmus haben.

Influx, 2017. © Viviane Sassen. Courtesy of Stevenson, Cape Town, Johannesburg, Amsterdam

Sassens Fotos stören ständig unsere gewohnten Wahrnehmungen, denn einige sind sorgfältig konstruiert, während andere zufällige Szenen darstellen, was uns im Unklaren darüber lässt, ob es sich um Fiktionen oder um Szenen aus dem Leben handelt. Die Ambiguität zwischen Realismus und Abstraktion, die für ihre Arbeit charakteristisch ist, entsteht im Spiel der Nebeneinanderstellungen und Assoziationen und bringt die Einflüsse des Surrealismus in ihrer Praxis zum Vorschein – in einem Gespräch über Verwandlung und Verkleidung.

In Sassens Worten:

„Ich liebe die Flexibilität der Fotografie. Es fasziniert mich, wie man ein Bild aus seinem ursprünglichen Kontext herausnehmen und es in etwas anderes verwandeln kann, um es dann wieder an einen anderen Ort zu bringen. Die Bedeutung eines Bildes kann sich ändern, wenn man es in einen anderen Kontext stellt. Ich habe meine Bilder oft als Wörter oder Sätze bezeichnet, mit denen man verschiedene Geschichten oder Gedichte schreiben kann.“

X, 2017. © Viviane Sassen. Courtesy of Stevenson, Cape Town, Johannesburg, Amsterdam

Transparency

Datenschutzerklarung Cookie Policy