SCHAUFENSTER: Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening: 8.10.2016 ore 11
Exhibition: 11.10. – 5.11.2016

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

A photographic exhibition presenting projects by the students of the Faculty of Design and Art at the Free University of Bolzano, realized during the artistic photography course taught by Nicolò Degiorgis in the 2015 & 2016 summer semesters in collaboration with SEAB and Villa Serena.

“Year in and year out an unimaginable number of photographs are produced worldwide. Virtually every day, each of us adds to this gigantic mountain of photographs without giving the consequences a second thought. But while photography seems a harmless leisure pursuit, the chemicals contained in all photographs pose enormous dangers to our health. What‘s more, photographs in such quantities increase visual pollution and undermine our thinking power—to say nothing of the moral dangers they pose for our children.” Joachim Schmid, Erste allgemeine Altfotosammlung, 1990

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Just under a 100 years ago the concept of waste as we know it today didn’t even exist, neither physically nor visually. Recycling and awareness of one’s consumption were such essential elements for survival due to a general shortage of all goods, that there were no second thoughts or possible doubts about reusing already existing materials. This was especially true for the post-war generation. Therefore there were no such things as mass overproduction and increasing amount of waste.

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

But in just a few years things have changed drastically. Living in our modern society which is materialistically and visually overloaded with goods, signs and stimuli, overproduction and therefore accumulation of waste seems inevitable. Awareness of production and overproduction has more often than not become a matter of choice, more an ethical decision than an unquestionable act, leading to an array of negative consequences which slowly pervade and often unconsciously influence our everyday lives and habits.

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

As quoted in Joachim Schmid’s statement above, the same applies to the world of photography. Whereas once upon a time photography was an activity limited to a group of people who could afford a camera and were technically capable of handling it and developing the pictures, now, as a result of the wide distribution of analogue cameras, the development of digital photography and especially in the past decade, the invention of smartphones, photography has become accessible to the masses. Suddenly everybody is a photographer capable of capturing, developing and sharing photographs, a development that has radically altered our perception of it. Not only has photography become a much more passive activity, being often unconsciously overused, but it has also evolved into an extremely powerful medium which can at times become highly manipulative and therefore dangerous.

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

The aim of this course was to raise awareness not only about the physical consequences of living in a photographically overloaded society, but also the visual and mental consequences. During this process some students used and revived already existing photographic material, while others developed completely new photographic projects. The results in the form of books, images and videos range from documenting the food waste in the university canteen; meeting the guests of Villa Serena to confront and exchange ideas with a generation more aware of consumption and preservation; working with the contents of internet-blogs and photographic archives; reinstalling life and meaning into found objects and abandoned places – all the way to changing perspectives on „mainstream“ photography and reinterpreting the first photo book ever published.

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Although extremely varied, the common denominator of all projects remains the critical confrontation with production and overproduction of images and the conscious use of photography as a powerful and very present medium in today’s world.

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Tutela del dati Datenschutzerklarung Privacy Policy

SCHAUFENSTER: Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening: 8.10.2016 ore 11
Exhibition: 11.10. – 5.11.2016

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Eine fotografische Ausstellung mit Projekten der Studenten der Fakultät für Design und Künste der Freien Universität Bozen, die im Sommersemester 2015 & 2016 in Zusammenarbeit mit SEAB und Villa Serena im Kurs künstlerisch Fotografie, unter der Leitung von Nicolò Degiorgis, entstanden sind.

“Jahr für Jahr werden rund um die Welt unvorstellbare Mengen von Fotografien produziert. Wir alle tragen fast täglich dazu bei, den heute bereits gigantischen Fotoberg zu vergrössern. Doch kaum jemand macht sich Gedanken über die Folgen dieses scheinbar harmlosen Vergnügens. Die in allen Fotografien enthaltenen Chemikalien stellen eine enorme Gefährdung unserer Gesundheit dar; darüber hinaus beeinträchtigt die zunehmende visuelle Umweltverschmutzung durch Fotografien unser Denkvermögen – von der sittlichen Gefährdung unserer Kinder ganz zu schweigen.” Joachim Schmid, Erste allgemeine Altfotosammlung, 1990

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Vor nur 100 Jahren existierte das Konzept Abfall so wie wir es heute kennen noch gar nicht, weder physisch noch visuell. Recycling und Verbraucherbewusstsein waren solch essentielle Elemente für das tägliche Überleben, dass es keine Zweitgedanken oder mögliche Zweifel über die Wiederverwertung von bereits existierenden Materialien gab. Dies gilt besonders für die Nachkriegsgeneration. Begriffe wie Überproduktion und zunehmende Abfallmengen waren noch kein Thema.

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Doch in nur wenigen Jahren haben sich die Bedingungen drastisch verändert. In unserer modernen Gesellschaft, die materiell und visuell mit Waren, Zeichen und Anregungen überladen ist, ist Überproduktion und folglich die Anhäufung von Abfallprodukten unvermeidbar. Bewusstsein über Produktion und Überproduktion ist freiwillig geworden, eher eine ethische Entscheidung als eine unbestreitbare Handlung, was zu einer ganzen Reihe von negativen Konsequenzen führt, die langsam und oft unbewusst unser alltägliches Leben und unsere Angewohnheiten durchdringen.

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Wie eben in Joachim Schmid’s Aussage zitiert, gilt das gleiche für die Welt der Fotografie. Früher war Fotografie eine Aktivität, die sich auf eine limitierte Gruppe von Menschen beschränkte, die sich eine Kamera leisten konnten und technisch fähig waren, diese zu bedienen und die Fotos zu entwickeln. Heute hingegen ist sie dank der wachsenden Verbreitung von analogen Kameras, der Entwicklung der digitalen Fotografie und besonders im letzten Jahrzehnt der Erfindung des Smartphones für die Massen zugänglich geworden. Plötzlich ist jeder ein Fotograf, fähig ein Foto zu schießen, es zu entwickeln und zu veröffentlichen oder zu teilen. Diese Entwicklung hat unsere Wahrnehmung der Fotografie radikal verändert. Einerseits ist Fotografie eine viel passivere Aktion geworden, die oft unbewusst überbenutzt wird, andererseits hat sie sich aber auch in ein extrem einflussreiches Medium entwickelt, das manchmal höchst manipulativ und folglich gefährlich sein kann.

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Das Ziel dieses Kurses war es, nicht nur das Bewusstsein über die materiellen Folgen einer fotografisch überladenen Gesellschaft zu stärken, sondern auch die visuellen und mentalen Folgen zu analysieren. Während dieses Prozesses haben einige Studenten bereits existierendes fotografisches Material verwendet und wiederverwertet, während andere komplett neue fotografische Projekte entwickelt haben. Die Ergebnisse in Form von Büchern, Bildern und Videos reichen von der Dokumentation der Lebensmittelabfälle der Universitätsmensa; den Treffen mit den Gästen der Villa Serena, um mit einer Generation, dessen Bewusstsein über Konsum und Erhaltung stärker ist, Gedanken auszutauschen; der Arbeit mit den Inhalten von Internet-blogs und fotografischen Archiven; der Wiederherstellung von Leben und Bedeutung in gefundenen Objekten und verlassenen Orten – bis hin zur Veränderung der Perspektiven von „mainstream“-Fotografie und der Re-Interpretation des ersten Fotobuchs, das je veröffentlich wurde.

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Obwohl untereinander sehr unterschiedlich, bleibt der gemeinsame Nenner aller Projekte die kritische Konfrontation mit Produktion und Überproduktion von Bildern und die bewusste Anwendung von Fotografie als einflussreiches und extrem präsentes Medium in der heutigen Welt.

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Opening 8.10.2016 Reviving, Reclaiming, Recycling

Tutela del dati Datenschutzerklarung Privacy Policy