Anush Hamzehian Vittorio Mortarotti – Eden

Opening: 6.12.16, 7pm
Cuarted by: Stefano Riba
Exhibition: 7.12.16-21.1.17

Anush Hamzehian Vittorio Mortaretti - Eden

Anush Hamzehian Vittorio Mortaretti – Eden

This project is called ‘Eden’, just like the garden the first man was banished from, like the lost heaven in which John Milton’s fallen angel says: “Better to reign in Hell than serve in Heaven”. The Eden that Anush and Vittorio depict is set in Agarak and it’s closer to the Miltonian hell than the biblical paradise.

Anush Hamzehian Vittorio Mortaretti – Eden, foto-forum, opening foto-forum 6.12.16, photo: Claudia Corrent

Agarak is the last Armenian village before the Iranian border. An anonymous place of transit, a place where thousands of drivers pass through on trucks loaded with oil extracted in Iran, drugs produced in Afghanistan, molybdenum dug out locally and then driven to Russia where it’s used in the military industry. But for the 4900 inhabitants this is the place in which they spend their entire life. Besides natives (old ultra-nationalists, who never left the village and experienced the war with Azerbaijan and the everlasting tensions with Turkey, and younger generations who are constantly dreaming of escaping), Agarak hosts miners (occupied in the molybdenum mines), Russian soldiers (who patrol the other close border with Azerbaijan), illegal liquor vendors and prostitutes (whose customers are truck drivers, soldiers, miners and Iranian men in search of a weekend without any strict rules).

Anush Hamzehian Vittorio Mortaretti – Eden, foto-forum, opening foto-forum 6.12.16, photo: Claudia Corrent

This series of works (a large format video installation of three screens, a single channel video and ten large format photographs) has been made by the artists to reflect the need to rebuild origins, family stories, borders and people expelled from their territories for different reasons. The decision of setting the project in Agarak is due to the fact that it represents the closest spot to Iran that Anush, who was conceived in 1979 in the Iranian town of Tabriz, can reach. 36 years after his birth Anush still can’t cross the border because of his father political activities during the Komenei ascent. In March 2014 Anush and  Vittorio decided to get the closest they could to the country where everything started but where he can not go. For the first time, the two could see Iran everyday, its mountains, the Aras River and a road that climbs up to the city of Tabriz where everything started.

Anush Hamzehian Vittorio Mortaretti – Eden, foto-forum, opening foto-forum 6.12.16, photo: Claudia Corrent

Far from being a mere autobiographical project Anush and Vittorio stayed in Agarak for over a month and studied their way of living with the community for quite a long time in order to be able to depict it as close as reality can be expressed through photos and videos. During this residency they focused on the very actual idea of confines (places) and confined (people). During their residency  two artists asked the Agarak inhabitants three questions: Why do people move? Why do people stay? And how do you imagine paradise? The answers were filmed and edited to create a narration you can see in the three channel video. They are pervaded by the impressions of being surrounded by hostile nations, an encirclement which generates isolation and claustrophobia but also, on the other hand, the will to escape the barriers imposed by politics, conflicts and national identity.

Anush Hamzehian Vittorio Mortaretti – Eden, foto-forum, opening foto-forum 6.12.16, photo: Claudia Corrent

In this context the garden par excellence, Eden, goes back to its antique meaning which the etymology finds in the indogermanic gairdan, which gave origin to the word garden, originally meaning to encircle, to enclose.  This explains the oxymoron created by Eden, the title of the project which usually refers to a bucolic and immaculate scenario, but which, in this case, addresses the issue of an existence spent in a garden surrounded by bars.

Stefano Riba

Anush Hamzehian Vittorio Mortaretti – Eden, foto-forum, opening foto-forum 6.12.16, photo: Claudia Corrent

Anush Hamzehian Vittorio Mortaretti – Eden, foto-forum, opening foto-forum 6.12.16, photo: Claudia Corrent

Anush Hamzehian Vittorio Mortaretti – Eden, foto-forum, opening foto-forum 6.12.16, photo: Claudia Corrent

Anush Hamzehian (Padova 1980, lives and works in Paris) is an Italo-Iranian film director. His last documentaries are: Après (2014), L’Académie de la Folie (2014), Les Enfants de l’Odyssée (2012), Le Jardin des Merveilles (2011), La main et la voix (2009). In 2014 Hamzehian won the grant “Louis Lumière” promoted by the Institut Français of Parigi.

Vittorio Mortarotti (Savigliano 1982, lives and work in Torino) had his first solo show in 2008, an exhibition held in the frame of Krakow Photomonth Festival (PL). The same year his work is selected for the collective “Behind Walls” at Fries Museum in Leeuwarden (NL). In 2010 he’s shortlisted by Laura Serani in the volume “Italian Emerging Photography” which is launched at Mois de la Photo in Parigi. In 2012 he participates to a residency supported by Manifesta 12 in Genk (BE), for the occasion he creates a new work presented in the show “Hidden Places and Identities”. In 2013 Van Der gallery helds his first solo show in Italy. In 2014 he wins the 1st Prize at Photodays in Rovinj (CR), while in 2015 “The first day of good weather” is held at Museum Arsenal in Metz (FR) and the book of the same name is selected for “The First Book Award 2015 – MACK” and later is published by Skinnerboox.

Hamzehian and Mortarotti duo project “Eden” was so far exhibited in Spain (Blueproject FOundation), Italy (Art Verona) e Svizzera (Images Vevey). The project recently won the “Leica Prize” al Festival Images di Vevey. They are currently working on two project: one in Japan (Mr. Kubota) and one in New Mexico (Most were silent).

Annusa Hamzehian, Stefano Riba, Vittorio Mortaretti, foto-forum, opening foto-forum 6.12.16, photo: Claudia Corrent

Tutela del dati Datenschutzerklarung Privacy Policy

Anush Hamzehian Vittorio Mortarotti – Eden

Opening: 6.12.16, 19 Uhr
Kuratiert von: Stefano Riba
Ausstellung: 7.12.16-21.1.17

Anush Hamzehian Vittorio Mortaretti - Eden

Anush Hamzehian Vittorio Mortaretti – Eden

Der Titel der Arbeit, Eden, klingt nach dem Garten, aus dem der Mensch verjagt wurde. Nach dem verlorenen Paradies, vor dem John Miltons Erzengel flieht und verkündet: „Besser in der Hölle herrschen, als im Himmel dienen“. Das Eden, von dem Anush und Vittorio erzählen, nennt sich Agarak und ähnelt mehr der Miltonschen Hölle als dem biblischen Paradies.

Anush Hamzehian Vittorio Mortaretti – Eden, foto-forum, opening foto-forum 6.12.16, photo: Claudia Corrent

Agarak ist die letzte armenische Ortschaft vor der Grenze zum Iran. Die zahlreichen Lastwagen, die hier durchfahren, sind mit Petrolium, Drogen oder dem hier reichlich vorhandenen Mineralstoff Molybdän, der für die Waffenindustrie wichtig ist, beladen. Als ein Durchzugsort für die meisten, bietet er seinen 4900 Einwohnern kaum Alternativen. Wer hier lebt, ist entweder Minenarbeiter (und schürft nach dem genannten Molybdän), russischer Soldat (zuständig für die Sicherung der Grenze nach Aserbaidschan), Prostituierte oder Alkoholhändler (zuständig für die Gelüste von Soldaten, Lastwagenfahrern oder gesetzesmüden Iranern), ein ultranationalistischer Veteran, geprägt durch die ständige Bedrohung feindlich gesinnter Nachbarstaaten (hier die Türken und dort die Azeri) oder ein Jugendlicher, der sich nichts sehnlicher als fort von hier wünscht.

Anush Hamzehian Vittorio Mortaretti – Eden, foto-forum, opening foto-forum 6.12.16, photo: Claudia Corrent

Für ihre Werkreihe Eden, bestehend aus 10 großformatigen Fotografien, einem Video und einer 3Kanal-Videoinstallation, wählten Anush und Vittorio diesen Ort nicht zufällig. Anush ist der Sohn eines iranischen Auswanderers und wurde 1979, im Jahr der Islamischen Revolution auf der letzten Reise seiner Eltern in den Iran in Tabriz geboren. Im März 2014 beschlossen Anush und Vittorio gemeinsam, sich so nah wie möglich diesem seinem Herkunftsland zu nähern, in das er bis heute wegen der politischen Aktivitäten seines Vaters nicht einreisen durfte. Einen Monat lang verbrachten sie an der armenisch-iranischen Grenze und sahen von hier aus beide zum ersten Mal den Iran, seine Berge, den Fluss Aras und eine Straße, auf der man nach wenigen Kilometern kurviger Fahrt nach Tabriz gelangt. Entstanden ist eine Arbeit, die ausgehend von autobiografischen Umständen zu einer universellen Reflexion über Grenzen und deren Verteidigung, über Heimatgefühl und Reisefreiheit bzw. der Beschränkung von Freiheit geraten ist.

Anush Hamzehian Vittorio Mortaretti – Eden, foto-forum, opening foto-forum 6.12.16, photo: Claudia Corrent

Die drei Fragen, die sich die Künstler selbst und anderen, die sie kennenlernten, stellten, lauten: Warum reisen wir? Warum bleiben wir? Wie stellen wir uns das Paradies vor? Die filmisch aufgezeichneten Antworten finden sich in der Videoinstallation, die die Fotoserie begleitet und ergänzt. Sie geben Aufschluss über ein Leben zwischen den Fronten, inmitten sich feindlich gegenüber stehender Nationen, das Gefühle von Isolation und Klaustrophobie hervorruft, aber auch ein großes Bedürfnis nach Freiheit, nach Befreiung von den politisch, religiös und historisch bedingten Zwängen.

Anush Hamzehian Vittorio Mortaretti – Eden, foto-forum, opening foto-forum 6.12.16, photo: Claudia Corrent

In diesen Kontext gestellt, wird die Ambivalenz des Titels erkennbar und wir begegnen im Garten Eden auch seiner indogermanischen Wurzel und ursprünglichen Bedeutung, garten im Sinne von Umzäunung. Der bukolisch unbefleckte Ursprungsort generiert zu einem Unort zwischen Grenzen und Begrenzungen.

Stefano Riba

Anush Hamzehian Vittorio Mortaretti – Eden, foto-forum, opening foto-forum 6.12.16, photo: Claudia Corrent

Anush Hamzehian Vittorio Mortaretti – Eden, foto-forum, opening foto-forum 6.12.16, photo: Claudia Corrent

Anush Hamzehian Vittorio Mortaretti – Eden, foto-forum, opening foto-forum 6.12.16, photo: Claudia Corrent

Anush Hamzehian (1980) lebt als Filmemacher in Paris. Zu seinen Filmen zählen: Après (2014), L’Académie de la Folie (2014), Les Enfants de l’Odyssée (2012), Le Jardin des Merveilles (2011), La main et la voix (2009). 2014 wurde er mit dem „Louis Lumière“ des Pariser Institut Français ausgezeichnet.

Vittorio Mortarotti (1982), erste internationale Einzelausstellung 2008 beim Festival Photomonth in Krakau. Im selben Jahr Ausstellung im Fries Museum von Leeuwarden in Holland im Rahmen der von Wim Melis kuratierten Ausstellung „Behind Walls“. 2010 schlägt ihn Laura Serani für das Projekt „Italian Emerging Photography” vor, das beim Mois de la Photo in Paris präsentiert wird. 2012 nimmt er mit einer Arbeit, die während eines Künstleraufenthalts in Gent/Belgien entstanden ist, an der neunten Ausgabe der Manifesta teil; 2013 erste Einzelausstellung in Italien in der Galerie Van Der in Turin; 2015 Ausstellung einzelner Arbeiten bei Arsenal in Metz. Teilnahme am Wettbewerb „GrandPrix Fotofestiwal” von Lodz (2012) und für „Descubrimientos” beim Festival PhotoEspana in Madrid (2013). Sein Buch The First Day of Good Weather wurde für „The First Book Award 2015 – MACK” ausgewählt und im November desselben Jahres bei Skinnerboox publiziert.

Gemeinsame Ausstellungen in Frankreich, Spanien, Italien und der Schweiz, wo sie kürzlich den „Leica Prize“ beim Festival Images von Vevey gewonnen haben. Aktuell arbeiten sie gemeinsam an einem Dokumentarfilm „Mr. Kubota“ und an der neuen Serie „Most were silent“.

Annusa Hamzehian, Stefano Riba, Vittorio Mortaretti, foto-forum, opening foto-forum 6.12.16, photo: Claudia Corrent

Tutela del dati Datenschutzerklarung Privacy Policy