Webinar: Colin Pantall – Breaking Genre

15.11. + 22.11. + 29.11.2022
7-9pm (GMT+02:00)
online

Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy) Breaking Genre, Webinar with Colin Pantall

Portraiture, Landscape, Documentary: Breaking Genre

In three introductory lectures on landscape, documentary, and family, this three-part series will look at how these ideas have been built up through historical forms of representation. It will also look at how contemporary photography, and photobooks in particular, are moving beyond rigid ideas of genre, and the ways in which influences from art, film, and politics are changing the face of photographic practice.
This series of lectures will give you a historical grounding in key concepts, ideas on the theory of photographic representation, and an introduction to contemporary photographic and publishing practice.

#1: The Face – Who does the looking
In this lecture we will look at the origins of portrait photography, how the face became the ‘mirror into the soul’, and how power and control have been invested in the person taking the photograph. We will also look at the global nature of photography, and the ways different theories of image, self, and photographic identity emerge from different visual traditions and are used in contemporary photobooks.

#2: Landscape – Where we look and what we show
Who does the looking matters. What we choose to look at matters too. And so does where you look at, and what we show. This lecture will look at the diverse global origins of landscape photography, examining the idea that the landscape is inherently political and economic in the way that it is and has been portrayed. The lecture will go beyond the picturesque to look at theories that extend to contemporary surveys of the landscape in representations of environmental issues, climate change, and land ownership and the ways these have been used in contemporary photography and photobooks.

#3: Documentary matters – expanding the documentary view
The 1930s saw the birth of documentary film, mass observation, and the early ideas of the documentary view. This lecture will look at those ideas and look at how ideas of documentary have expanded into a plethora of different contemporary forms. It will challenge the idea of documentary as something either objective or rigid, and apply an open perspective of documentary that allows the personal, the subjective, and the uncertain to enter into the design and making of photobooks

Colin Pantall is a photographer, writer, and educator based in Bath, England.
His work focusses on his immediate domestic environment and includes his book All Quiet on the Home Front, his publication Brexit Pictures, and his projects The Mental Load of Motherhood, Sofa Portraits and My German Family Album. He is interested in how environment, domestic space and family narratives overlap and interfere in our understanding of personal, visual, and political histories.

Dates: 15.11. + 22.11. + 29.11.2022
Time: 7-9pm (GMT+02:00)
Location: Zoom
Language: English
Speaker: Colin Pantall
Price: 95€ (Early bird discount 10% until 31.10.22)
Sign up: info@foto-forum.it
Number of participants: 10 – 16
Deadline: 8.11.2022

Transparency

Privacy Policy Cookie Policy

Webinar: Colin Pantall – Breaking Genre

15.11. + 22.11. + 29.11.2022
19-21 Uhr (GMT+02:00)
Online

Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy) Breaking Genre, Webinar with Colin Pantall

Portrait, Landschaft, Dokumentation: Genres überwinden

In drei einführenden Vorträgen zu den Themen Landschaft, Dokumentation und Familie wird untersucht, wie diese Konzepte durch historische Darstellungsformen entstanden sind. Außerdem wird im Rahmen dieser dreiteiligen Reihe darauf eingegangen, wie die zeitgenössische Fotografie und insbesondere Fotobücher starre Genrevorstellungen überwinden und auf welche Art und Weise Einflüsse aus Kunst, Film und Politik das Gesicht der fotografischen Praxis verändern.
Diese Vortragsreihe vermittelt Ihnen historische Grundlagen zu den Schlüsselkonzepten, Vorstellungen zur Theorie der fotografischen Darstellung und eine Einführung in die zeitgenössische fotografische und verlegerische Praxis.

#1: Das Gesicht – wer schaut
In diesem Vortrag befassen wir uns mit den Ursprüngen der Porträtfotografie und mit der Frage, wie das Gesicht zum „Spiegel der Seele“ wurde und Macht und Kontrolle auf die Person übertragen wurden, die das Foto macht. Zudem gehen wir auf die globale Natur der Fotografie ein, und auf die Art und Weise, wie verschiedene Theorien des Bildes, des Selbst und der fotografischen Identität aus verschiedenen visuellen Traditionen hervorgehen und in zeitgenössischen Fotobüchern verwendet werden.

#2: Landschaft – wohin wir schauen und was wir zeigen
Es ist wichtig, wer schaut. Was wir betrachten, spielt ebenfalls eine Rolle. Zudem kommt es darauf an, wohin wir schauen und was wir zeigen. Dieser Vortrag befasst sich mit den verschiedenen globalen Ursprüngen der Landschaftsfotografie und untersucht die Vorstellung, wonach die Landschaft in der Art und Weise wie sie dargestellt wird und wurde, von Natur aus eine politische und wirtschaftliche Bedeutung habe. Der Vortrag geht über das Pittoreske hinaus, behandelt Theorien, die sich auf zeitgenössische Untersuchungen der Landschaft in Darstellungen von Umweltfragen, Klimawandel und Landbesitz erstrecken und geht auf die Art und Weise ein, wie diese in der zeitgenössischen Fotografie und in Fotobüchern verwendet werden.

#3: Dokumentationen sind wichtig – Erweiterung des dokumentarischen Blicks
Die 1930er-Jahre waren die Geburtsstunde des Dokumentarfilms, der Massenbeobachtung und der frühen Vorstellungen des dokumentarischen Blicks. Dieser Vortrag befasst sich mit diesen Vorstellungen und untersucht, wie sie sich auf eine Fülle verschiedener zeitgenössischer Formen ausgeweitet haben. Er stellt die Vorstellung, wonach die Dokumentation etwas entweder Objektives oder Starres sei, in Frage und wendet eine offene Perspektive der Dokumentation an, die das Persönliche, das Subjektive und das Ungewisse in die Gestaltung und Herstellung von Fotobüchern einfließen lässt.

Colin Pantall ist Fotograf, Autor und Pädagoge und lebt in Bath, England. Seine Arbeit konzentriert sich auf sein unmittelbares häusliches Umfeld und umfasst sein Buch All Quiet on the Home Front, seine Publikation Brexit Pictures und seine Projekte The Mental Load of Motherhood, Sofa Portraits und My German Family Album. Er interessiert sich dafür, wie sich Umgebung, häuslicher Raum und Familiengeschichten überschneiden und unser Verständnis persönlicher, visueller und politischer Geschichten beeinflussen.

Termine: 15.11. + 22.11. + 29.11.2022
Uhrzeit: 19-21 Uhr (GMT+02:00)
Location: Zoom
Sprache: Englisch
Kursleitung: Colin Pantall
Preis: 95€ (Early bird discount 10% bis 31.10.22)
Info & Anmeldung: info@foto-forum.it
Teilnehmerzahl: min 10 max 16
Deadline: 8.11.2022

Transparency

Datenschutzerklarung Cookie Policy