Event: Guided Tour + Talk with Antonio Rovaldi and Esther Kinsky

Event: Torno indietro un attimo 8.06.2024, 11 a.m.
Talk: Antonio Rovaldi, Esther Kinsky

Within the framework of FLUX. River interventions and explorations (Lungomare)
Curated by Angelika Burtscher and Daniele Lupo

Finissage with Antonio Rovaldi, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy)

Saturday, June 8, at 11 a.m. at Foto Forum in Bolzano, as part of the exhibition Torno indietro un attimo by Antonio Rovaldi, curators Angelika Burstcher and Daniele Lupo, along with the artist and author Esther Kinsky, will present the book Morgen. Torno indietro un attimo which accompanies the exhibition, during a conversation about the geographies characterizing river contexts, particularly the Adige, the focus of the artist’s photographic research. Following the presentation, there will be a guided tour of the exhibition and an introduction to the public poster project that, starting from June 3, brings distant river imagery to Bolzano, derived from other photographic projects by Rovaldi.

Between summer and autumn 2023, Antonio Rovaldi traveled – on foot, by bike, by train – the entire course of the Adige river, creating a photographic and audio-video project that tells its current state through focusing on the transformations characterizing its landscape. The exhibition showcases the results of this journey as a series of photographs and slides, a sound installation, and a video.

The book Morgen. Torno indietro un attimo, published by Quodlibet, completes the project by offering further interpretations of the river landscape and its complex transformation and stratification. Antonio Rovaldi’s images intersect with the words of author Esther Kinsky, one of the most authoritative voices in contemporary literature, a refined narrator of the physical and inner geography that imbues places (her book River, published in 2018, serves as inspiration for her involvement). An unprecedented dialogue unfolds between the two during a parallel exploration journey in which the artist involves the author.

The curators’ text and a dialogue with MUSE geologist Marco Avanzini on the history of the discovery of Jurassic-era dinosaur footprints in Rovereto provide a broader context for the project within a current debate that views river contexts and ecosystems as vital networks.

Two steps forward and one step back, in syncopated rhythm, we follow the Adige along its entire course, from its source at the border between Italy and Austria to its mouth in the Adriatic Sea. The sequence of images and words enclosed here captures the fragmentation of the river in its geographical complexity.

The project Torno indietro un attimo is part of the broader multi-year and multidisciplinary program FLUX – River interventions and explorations, conceived and developed by Lungomare since 2022, where the river landscapes of Bolzano – and beyond – are observed and activated from different perspectives together with local and international artists, architects, and researchers.

The project Torno indietro un attimo is supported by Strategia Fotografia 2023, promoted by the Directorate General for Contemporary Creativity of the Ministry of Culture.

Co-financed by the Autonomous Province of Bolzano – South Tyrol and the Municipality of Bolzano, the project is produced by Foto Forum and Lungomare, and realized in collaboration with THE NEW INSTITUTE Centre for Environmental Humanities (NICHE), Ca’ Foscari University of Venice, and Grenze-Arsenali Fotografici, Verona. The photographic series will become part of the collection of Museion – Museum of Modern and Contemporary Art of Bolzano.

Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy)

Transparency

Event: Guided Tour + Talk with Antonio Rovaldi and Esther Kinsky

Event: Torno indietro un attimo 8.06.2024, 11:00
Talk: Antonio Rovaldi, Esther Kinsky

Im Rahmen von FLUX. Aktionen und Raumerkundungen entlang der Flüsse (Lungomare)
Kuratiert von Angelika Burtscher und Daniele Lupo

Finissage with Antonio Rovaldi, Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy)

Am Samstag, den 8. Juni, um 11 Uhr präsentieren die Kuratoren Angelika Burtscher und Daniele Lupo anlässlich der Ausstellung Torno indietro un attimo im Foto Forum Bozen gemeinsam mit Künstler Antonio Rovaldi und Autorin Esther Kinsky das Buch Morgen. Torno indietro un attimo. Die Präsentation wird in Form eines Gesprächs über Geografien von Flusslandschaften stattfinden, besonders über jene der Etsch, die im Fokus der fotografischen Recherche für dieses Projekt steht. Anschließend gibt es eine guided Tour durch die Ausstellung, und es wird das Plakat-Projekt vorgestellt, das ab 3. Juni Flussbilder aus anderen Fotoprojekten Rovaldis in den Stadtraum von Bozen bringt.

Zwischen Sommer und Herbst 2023 hat Antonio Rovaldi den gesamten Verlauf des Flusses Etsch zu Fuß, mit dem Fahrrad und Zug erkundet. Dabei ist ein umfassendes audiovisuelles Werk entstanden, das den aktuellen Zustand des Flusses und die Transformation seiner Flusslandschaften im Verlauf der Zeit dokumentiert. Die Ausstellung präsentiert das Ergebnis dieser Reise in Form einer Fotoserie, mehrerer Diaprojektionen, einer Klanginstallation sowie eines Videos.

Das Buch Morgen. Torno indietro un attimo, erschienen bei Quodlibet, ergänzt das Projekt, indem es weitere Perspektiven auf die Flusslandschaften und ihre komplexen Transformationen und Schichtungen offenlegt. Antonio Rovaldis Bilder verbinden sich mit den Worten der Autorin Esther Kinsky, sie ist eine der bedeutendsten Stimmen der zeitgenössischen Literatur und eine feinfühlige Erzählerin von äußeren und inneren Geografien von Orten (2018 erschien ihr Buch River, das dem Künstler als Inspiration diente). Zwischen beiden entstand ein stiller Dialog, indem der Künstler das Werk der Autorin mit auf seine Erkundungsreisen nahm.

Ein Text der Kuratoren und der Dialog des Künstlers mit dem Geologen des MUSE, Marco Avanzini, über die Entdeckung der Dinosaurierspuren aus dem Jura in Rovereto bieten schließlich einen noch umfassenderen Rahmen für das Projekt, das sich in eine aktuelle Debatte fügt, die Flusslandschaften und deren Ökosysteme als lebenswichtige Netzwerke betrachtet.

Zwei Schritte vor und einen zurück, im synkopierten Rhythmus folgen wir dem gesamten Verlauf des Flusses Etsch von der Quelle an der Grenze zwischen Italien und Österreich bis zur Mündung ins Adriatische Meer. Die hier enthaltene Abfolge von Bildern und Worten gibt die Fragmentierung des Flusses in seiner geografischen Komplexität wieder.

Das Projekt Torno indietro un attimo ist Teil des multidisziplinären Langzeitprojekts FLUX – Aktionen und Raumerkundungen entlang der Flüsse, das von Lungomare seit 2022 konzipiert und entwickelt wird. Flusslandschaften in Bozen – und darüber hinaus – werden aus verschiedenen Perspektiven gemeinsam mit Künstler*innen, Architekt*innen und Forscher*innen aus dem In- und Ausland beobachtet und aktiviert.

Torno indietro un attimo wird unterstützt von Strategia Fotografia 2023, gefördert von der Direzione Generale Creatività Contemporanea des italienischen Kulturministeriums.

Mitfinanziert von: Autonome Provinz Bozen – Südtirol / Stadt Bozen. Das Projekt wurde von Foto Forum und Lungomare produziert und in Zusammenarbeit mit THE NEW INSTITUTE Centre for Environmental Humanities (NICHE), Venedig und Grenze-Arsenali Fotografici in Verona, realisiert. Die Fotoserie wird Teil der Sammlung des MUSEION – Museum für moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst in Bozen.

Foto Forum, Bolzano/Bozen (Italy)

Transparency