Exhibition: Così fan tutti. 1974 – 1983

Curated by: Michele Galluzzo, Stefano Riba
Images: Giusi D’Orsi, Jean-Pierre Maurer
Graphic design: Marcello Jacopo Biffi, Michele Galluzzo
Showcase: Foto Forum, via Weggenstein 3F, Bolzano
Public billposting: Bolzano
Instagram: @foto_forum
Date: April 27, 2021 – May 22, 2021

Così fan tutti. 1974 – 1983, Exhibition Foto Forum 2021

Così fan tutti. 1974 – 1983
The private archives of Giusi D’Orsi and Jean-Pierre Maurer

Così fan tutti. 1974 – 1983 is a widespread exhibition that presents two unpublished series of portraits from the private archives of Giusi D’Orsi and Jean-Pierre Maurer, which were shot between the seventies and eighties as part of the famous advertising campaign Bevo Jägermeister perché. Over the span of over ten years, the commercial communication of herbal liqueur has published over 1500 portraits of ordinary people with ironic headlines in national periodicals. The communication strategy for the promotion of the liqueur was conceived by the GGK Düsseldorf agency for the German market. It later arrived in Italy in 1974 through the work of GGK Milano and commissioned by the entrepreneur Karl Schmid from Merano. The latter was the producer of the amaro – first in Postal and then in Salorno – and the exclusive distributor for Italy from the 1960s to the mid-1990s.

The campaign entered the history of Italian advertising and collective memory. The success of the hype was due to the innovative use of ordinary people as testimonials and to the original strategies used in spreading the advertisements. As a matter of fact, in line with the German Unikat Kampagne, each subject was published only once on a single newspaper. The impact of the campaign was evident when many aspiring ordinary people sent their candidacy to the Milanese agency or directly to Karl Schmid to become protagonists of the campaign. In the first half of the 1980s, the newspaper “Il Giorno” presented the series of advertisements as a ‘huge success’ highlighting how «every week hundreds and hundreds of letters and photos arrive from all over Italy with a prayer: take me, let me do that advertisement».

The exhibition Cosi fan tutti. 1974 – 1983, curated by Michele Galluzzo and Stefano Riba and organized by Foto Forum with the support of the Autonomous Province of Bolzano and the Municipality of Bolzano will be on display starting from April 27 until May 22, 2021, in a way that allows it to be viewed in person and in compliance with the current anti SARS CoV-2 provisions. The exhibition will take place in the city space of Bolzano with a series of unique public billpostings; in the Foto Forum showcase window in via Weggenstein 3F in Bolzano, thanks to a video installation that can be seen from the outside; on social media channels and on the institution’s website; in a volume published by Skinnerboox – with graphic design by Marcello Jacopo Biffi and Michele Galluzzo – which, in addition to the images, will also contain the critical texts of the curators and the interviews carried out with the protagonists of the campaign: D’Orsi, Maurer and Schmid.

Così fan tutti. 1974 – 1983 presents over 1300 portraits from the photographic archives of two of the protagonists of the campaign: that of Jean-Pierre Maurer, the only official photographer of the campaign for its entire duration; that of Giusi D’Orsi, the art buyer appointed by GGK to recruit testimonials. Through these two archival collections, the exhibition will allow us to reconstruct, for the first time, the history of over ten years of Bevo Jägermeister perché, and to analyze the dialogue with Italian society at the turn of the seventies and eighties and to reflect on the increasingly topical meaning of public self image.

 

Giusi D’Orsi was born in Salerno. During the 1960s she moved to Turin where she worked at Fiat. In 1969, she moved to Milan and began her career in advertising. In 1978 she became an independent art buyer and collaborated with the major agencies and photographic studios for the preparation of sets and for the castings of advertising campaigns. In September in the same year, and until 1983, she was in charge of the scouting of “any testimonials” for the advertising campaign Jägermeister Cosi fan tutti. Later she was in charge of looking for non-professional models and began offering the street-casting service, which back then was quite innovative. During her career – which ended in 2004 – she collaborated with the main creative advertising agencies present on the national scene including DDB, Leo Burnett, Pirella & Göttsche, Publicis, Publimarket, STZ, J Walter Thompson and TBWA.

Jean-Pierre Maurer was born in Oberdiessbach – Bern, Switzerland – in 1942. He graduated in Photography from the Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst in Zurich in 1964. After completing his studies he worked for five years as a photographer at one of the major advertising agencies in Zurich, Geisler & Geisler. In 1969 Maurer moved to Milan where he opened a photographic studio with his wife Françoise Seiterle and began a long-lasting collaboration with Ettore Sottsass. Between 1974 and 1987 he became the sole author of the photographs of the Bevo Jägermeister perchè and shot more than 1,500 portraits in thirteen years. In his long career Maurer collaborated with prestigious companies, including Alessi, Artemide, Audi, Bulgari, Fiat, Flos, Fratelli Rossetti, IBM, Microsoft, Nestlé, Olivetti, Timberland, and Volkswagen. He received numerous industry awards for his work in advertising such as the Epica, Pro Foto, Kodak Award and awards by the Italian Art Directors Club.

Karl Schmid is a South Tyrolean entrepreneur. For the entire period, between 1974 and 1987, he was the buyer of the Bevo Jägermeister campaign. After being in charge of the distribution of wine and liqueurs to hotels and restaurants in the area since the late 1950s, Schmid began in 1962 to import Jägermeister exclusively for Italy. Given the success of the amaro on the Italian market in 1969, the first production began in Postal and then from 1972 until 1994, in the large factory in Salorno where it produced over 7 million bottles a year. Schmid is also a wine producer – with the Rametz Castle estates in Maia Alta and Castel Monreale in Trentino – and a hotel entrepreneur. In the early 1980s he opened Villa Eden in Merano.

Michele Galluzzo is a graphic designer and researcher. After a degree in Communication Sciences at the University of Salento and a master’s degree at the ISIA of Urbino, in 2018 he completed his PhD in Design Sciences at the IUAV in Venice. From 2014 to 2017 he was research assistant and graphic designer at the AIAP Historical Archive in Milan. Since 2018 he has been part of the editorial board of the international graphic magazine “Progetto Grafico”. Since autumn 2019 he has curated the Instagram page @logo_irl and in 2020 he founded – together with Franziska Weitgruber – the design / research duo Fantasia Type. From October 2020 he is RTD at the UniBZ in Bolzano / Bozen.

Stefano Riba is a cultural designer, art technician and teacher. After his first experiences at the Sandretto Re Rebaudengo Foundation, the Ludwig Museum in Cologne, the Merz Foundation, the Giorgio Persano gallery, in 2012 he founded the independent Van Der space in Turin. Between 2014 and 2018 he was the curator of the series of Alpine themed exhibitions and residences “Erratic Passes”. Since 2016 he has lived in Bozen where he has collaborated with Museion and the Rorhof publishing house. He is currently a lecturer at the Free University of Bozen-Bolzano, collaborates in the production of the exhibition projects at ar/ge kunst and is co-creator, together with Claudia Polizzi, of the handyhands.it project and of the Di / Da and Alti Piani exhibition series. Cosi fan tutti is the fourth exhibition he has created together with Foto Forum.

 

Catalogue: Skinnerboox, Foto Forum
With the support of: Autonomous Province of Bolzano, City of Bolzano

Transparency

Privacy Policy Cookie Policy

Exhibition: Così fan tutti. 1974 – 1983

Kuratiert von: Michele Galluzzo, Stefano Riba
Fotografie: Giusi D’Orsi, Jean-Pierre Maurer
Grafikdesign: Marcello Jacopo Biffi, Michele Galluzzo
Schaufenster: Foto Forum, Weggensteinstr. 3F, Bozen
Plakatierung: Bolzano
Instagram: @foto_forum
Daten: 27. April 2021 – 22. Mai 2021

Così fan tutti. 1974 – 1983, Exhibition Foto Forum 2021

Così fan tutti. 1974 – 1983
Die Privatarchive von Giusi D’Orsi und Jean-Pierre Maurer

Così fan tutti. 1974 – 1983 ist eine vielschichtige Ausstellung, die zwei unveröffentlichte Porträtserien aus den Privatarchiven von Giusi D’Orsi und Jean-Pierre Maurer präsentiert, die zwischen den 1970er und 1980er Jahren im Rahmen der berühmten Werbekampagne Bevo Jägermeister perché entstanden sind. In einem Zeitraum von mehr als zehn Jahren wurden in der Marketingkommunikation des Kräuterlikörs mehr als 1.500 Porträts von einfachen Menschen in überregionalen Zeitungen mit ironischen Schlagzeilen abgebildet. Die von der Agentur GGK Düsseldorf für den deutschen Markt entworfene Kommunikationsstrategie zur Bewerbung des Likörs wurde 1974 von GGK Mailand nach Italien gebracht und vom Unternehmer Karl Schmid aus Meran in Auftrag gegeben. Letzterer war der Produzent des Likörs – zunächst in Postal und dann in Salorno – und von den 1960er Jahren bis Mitte der 1990er Jahre der exklusive Vertriebspartner für Italien.

Die Kampagne ging in die Geschichte der italienischen Werbung und in das kollektive Gedächtnis ein. Der Erfolg der Kampagne war auf den innovativen Einsatz von einfachen Menschen als Testimonials und auf die originellen Strategien bei der Verbreitung der Anzeigen zurückzuführen. In Anlehnung an die deutsche Unikat-Kampagne wurde jedes Sujet nur einmal, in einer einzigen Zeitung, veröffentlicht. Die Wirkung der Kampagne zeigte sich vor allem in den Anfragen von potenziellen Protagonisten, die sich entweder bei der Mailänder Agentur oder direkt bei Karl Schmid in Meran bewarben, um die Gesichter der Kampagne zu werden. Anfang der 1980er Jahre stellte die Tageszeitung „Il Giorno“ die Anzeigenserie als „enormen Erfolg“ dar und wies darauf hin, dass „jede Woche Hunderte und Aberhunderte von Briefen und Fotos aus ganz Italien eintrafen mit der Bitte: Nimm mich, lass mich diese Werbung machen“. 

Die Ausstellung Così fan tutti. 1974 – 1983, kuratiert von Michele Galluzzo und Stefano Riba und organisiert von Foto Forum mit Unterstützung der Autonomen Provinz Bozen und der Stadt Bozen, wird vom 27. April bis zum 22. Mai 2021 zu sehen sein, und zwar so, dass eine Live-Betrachtung unter Einhaltung der aktuellen SARS CoV-2 Vorschriften möglich ist. Die Ausstellung findet in der Stadt Bozen statt, mit einer Reihe von unikaten öffentlichen Plakaten; im Schaufenster des Foto Forums in der Weggensteinstraße 3F in Bozen, dank einer von außen sichtbaren Videoinstallation; auf den sozialen Kanälen und auf der Website der Institution selbst; in einem Band, herausgegeben von Skinnerboox – mit grafischer Gestaltung von Marcello Jacopo Biffi und Michele Galluzzo – der neben den Bildern auch die kritischen Texte der Kuratoren und das Interview mit den Protagonisten der Kampagne enthält: D’Orsi, Maurer und Schmid.

Così fan tutti. 1974 – 1983 präsentiert über 1300 Porträts aus den Fotoarchiven zweier Protagonisten der Kampagne: Jean-Pierre Maurer, der einzige offizielle Fotograf der Kampagne während ihrer gesamten Laufzeit, und Giusi D’Orsi, die von GGK beauftragte art buyer, die die Testimonials fand. Durch diese beiden Archivsammlungen ermöglicht die Ausstellung auch, erstmals die Geschichte von mehr als zehn Jahren Bevo Jägermeister perché zu rekonstruieren, ihren Dialog mit der italienischen Gesellschaft zwischen den 1970er und 1980er Jahren zu analysieren und über die immer aktuellere Bedeutung der Selbstdarstellung in der Öffentlichkeit nachzudenken.

 

Giusi D’Orsi wurde in Salerno geboren. In den sechziger Jahren ging sie nach Turin, wo sie für Fiat arbeitete. Im Jahr 1969 zog sie nach Mailand und begann ihre Karriere in der Werbung. 1978 machte sie sich selbstständig und arbeitete mit großen Agenturen und Fotostudios für die Vorbereitung von Sets und das Casting von Werbekampagnen zusammen. Ab September desselben Jahres und bis 1983 war sie für das Scouting der „gewöhnlichen Testimonials“ für die Jägermeister-Werbekampagne Così fan tutti zuständig. Auch später war sie für die Suche nach nicht-professionellen Models verantwortlich und begann, den damals recht innovativen Service des Street-Castings anzubieten. Im Laufe ihrer Karriere – die 2004 endete – arbeitete sie mit den wichtigsten kreativen Werbeagenturen der nationalen Szene zusammen, darunter DDB, Leo Burnett, Pirella & Göttsche, Publicis, Publimarket, STZ, J. Walter Thompson und TBWA.

Jean-Pierre Maurer wurde 1942 in Oberdiessbach – Bern, Schweiz – geboren. Er schloss 1964 sein Studium der Fotografie an der Hochschule für Gestaltung und Kunst in Zürich ab. Nach seinem Studium arbeitete er fünf Jahre lang als Fotograf bei einer der größten Züricher Werbeagenturen, Geisler & Geisler. 1969 zog Maurer nach Mailand, wo er mit seiner Frau Françoise Seiterle ein Fotostudio eröffnete und eine langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit Ettore Sottsass begann. Zwischen 1974 und 1987 war er alleiniger Autor der Fotografien für die Bevo Jägermeister perchè Pressekampagne und schoss in dreizehn Jahren mehr als 1.500 Porträts. In seiner langen Karriere hat Maurer mit namhaften Unternehmen zusammengearbeitet, darunter Alessi, Artemide, Audi, Bulgari, Fiat, Flos, Fratelli Rossetti, IBM, Microsoft, Nestlé, Olivetti, Timberland und Volkswagen. Für seine Arbeit in der Werbung erhielt er zahlreiche Branchenpreise wie Epica, Pro Foto, den Kodak-Preis und die Auszeichnungen des italienischen Art Directors Club.

Karl Schmid ist ein Unternehmer aus Südtirol. Von 1974 bis 1987 war er Auftraggeber der Bevo-Jägermeister-Kampagne. Nachdem Schmid bereits seit Ende der 50er Jahre mit dem Vertrieb von Wein und Spirituosen an Hotels und Restaurants in der Region beschäftigt war, begann er 1962 mit dem exklusiven Import von Jägermeister für Italien. Aufgrund des Erfolgs des Bitters auf dem italienischen Markt begann er 1969 mit der Produktion, zunächst in Postal und dann, von 1972 bis 1994, in der großen Anlage in Salorno, wo er über 7 Millionen Flaschen pro Jahr produzierte. Schmid ist auch Weinproduzent – mit den Weingütern Schloss Rametz in Obermais und Castel Monreale im Trentino – sowie Hotelunternehmer, der in den frühen 1980er Jahren die Villa Eden in Meran eröffnete.

Michele Galluzzo ist Grafikdesigner und Forscher. Nach einem Abschluss in Kommunikationswissenschaften an der Universität von Salento und einem Master an der ISIA Urbino, schloss er 2018 seinen PhD in Designwissenschaften an der IUAV Venedig ab. Von 2014 bis 2017 war er wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter und Grafikdesigner am AIAP Graphic Design Historical Archive in Mailand. Seit 2018 ist er Teil der Redaktion des internationalen Grafikdesign-Magazins „Progetto Grafico“. Seit Herbst 2019 betreut er die Instagram-Seite @logo_irl und gründete 2020 zusammen mit Franziska Weitgruber das Design/Research-Duo Fantasia Type. Seit Oktober 2020 ist er befristet beschäftigter Wissenschaftler an der UniBZ in Bozen.

Stefano Riba ist Kulturschaffender, Kunsttechniker und Dozent. Nach ersten Erfahrungen in der Fondazione Sandretto Re Rebaudengo, dem Museum Ludwig in Köln, der Fondazione Merz und der Galleria Giorgio Persano, gründete er 2012 den independent space Van Der in Turin. Zwischen 2014 und 2018 ist er Kurator der Reihe von Ausstellungen und Residenzen zum Thema Alpen „Passi erratici“. Seit 2016 lebt er in Bozen, wo er mit dem Museion und dem Verlag Rorhof zusammengearbeitet hat. Derzeit ist er Lehrbeauftragter an der Freien Universität Bozen, arbeitet an der Produktion der Ausstellungsprojekte von ar/ge kunst mit und ist zusammen mit Claudia Polizzi Mitgestalter des Projekts handyhands.it und der Ausstellungsreihe Di/Da und Alti Piani. Così fan tutti ist die vierte Ausstellung, die er zusammen mit Foto Forum produziert hat.

Katalog: Skinnerboox, Foto Forum
Mit Unterstützung von: Autonome Provinz Bozen, Stadt Bozen

Transparency

Datenschutzerklarung Cookie Policy