Exhibition: Hermann Mahl – Autochrome

Special Opening on May 11th from 11am to 5pm

Exhibition
Hermann Mahl – Autochrome
May 12th – June 13th:
Tuesday-Friday 3-7 pm
Saturday 10 am – 12 pm

HERMANN MAHL – “AUTOCHROME”, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY) 11.3. – 10.4.20

After returning from the military service around 1883, Hermann Mahl (1860-1944) passionately devoted himself as a self-taught and amateur photographer to the creation of “slides” which he then presented in the rooms of the Bruneck bourgeoisie. Mahl worked mainly with photographic glass plates in 13×18 cm and 9×12 cm format. Before the end of the century he got hold of a second photographic device, which was most likely portable, and for the production of photographs he also used celluloid film mostly in 6×9 cm format.

HERMANN MAHL – “AUTOCHROME”, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY) 11.3. – 10.4.20

On June 10th, 1907 in Paris, the inventors the “Lumière brothers of Lyon” presented the first color photographs achieved through the “Autochrome” process to the public. Only four months later in October, 1907, Hermann Mahl held his first color photography exhibition in his library in Via Centrale in Bruneck, and he used the same “Autochrome” process by the Lumière brothers. How Mahl came to know about these “revolutionary” color photographic plates is unknown. It is certain, however, that as a representative of the educated bourgeoisie of the Bruneck area, he was open to the world and interested in art, and had traveled extensively in previous years and evidently maintained good contacts with the European artistic and photographic environments of the time. Thanks to the Autochrome plates (silver bromide photographic plates) you can create an image on glass with a single shot, direct and positive in the right colors.

HERMANN MAHL – “AUTOCHROME”, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY) 11.3. – 10.4.20

The decade preceding the outbreak of the First World War was a period of change, which was also marked by the negative sides of technological civilization. Mahl’s autochrome photographs of
landscapes illustrating the seasonal transitions reflects freezing time and the preservation of a world considered intact that was about to disappear. It was above all the alpine environment that was synonymous with nature and freedom, and symbolized the distance from city life which became increasingly frenetic. Landscapes were one of Hermann Mahl’s favorite subjects, especially the mountains surrounding the basin of Bruneck and those of the Val Badia, as well as different views of the cities of Bruneck and the surroundings. Some of these images served among other things as originals for postcards and illustrations in newspapers and for other typographical products, such as tourist guides. Another important area is represented by family photographs and group photographs of friends and acquaintances.

HERMANN MAHL – “AUTOCHROME”, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY) 11.3. – 10.4.20

Hermann Mahl was born in 1860, son of Johann Georg Mahl, the typographer and pro tempore mayor of Bruneck. He completed a four-year apprenticeship in his father’s company before continuing his training as a typographic composer in Munich, Linz, Hamburg and other places. In 1879 he completed his itinerant apprenticeship in Stuttgart. After his military service he worked as a technical director in the printing press in Bruneck. Upon the death of his father, he took over the management of the entire company and continued his activity even after the end of the First World War and the collapse of the Habsburg monarchy. In 1934 Hermann Mahl solemnly celebrated 60 years of professional activity. He died in 1944 at the age of 84.

HERMANN MAHL – “AUTOCHROME”, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – “AUTOCHROME”, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – “AUTOCHROME”, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – “AUTOCHROME”, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – “AUTOCHROME”, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – “AUTOCHROME”, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – “AUTOCHROME”, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – “AUTOCHROME”, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – “AUTOCHROME”, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – “AUTOCHROME”, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – “AUTOCHROME”, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – “AUTOCHROME”, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – “AUTOCHROME”, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – “AUTOCHROME”, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – “AUTOCHROME”, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – “AUTOCHROME”, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

Transparency

Privacy Policy Cookie Policy

Exhibition: Hermann Mahl – Autochrome

Special Opening on May 11th from 11am to 5pm

Exhibition
Hermann Mahl – Autochrome
May 12th – June 13th:
Tuesday-Friday 3-7 pm
Saturday 10 am – 12 pm

HERMANN MAHL – „AUTOCHROME“, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY) 11.3. – 10.4.20

Als Autodidakt und Freizeitfotograf widmete sich Hermann Mahl (1860 – 1944) schon bald nach seiner Rückkehr vom Militärdienst um 1883 mit Leidenschaft der Erzeugung von „Lichtbildern“, die er im Kreis der Brunecker Bürgerschaft vorführte.
Mahl arbeitete vor allem mit den damals üblichen Fotoplatten aus Glas im Format 13×18 cm und 9×12 cm. Noch vor der Jahrhundertwende schaffte er sich einen zweiten, wahrscheinlich mobileren Fotoapparat an und nutzte für die Erstellung der Bilder auch Zelluloidfilme vor allem im Format 6×9 cm.

HERMANN MAHL – „AUTOCHROME“, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY) 11.3. – 10.4.20

Die ersten Farbfotografien nach dem Autochrome-Verfahren wurden am 10. Juni 1907 von den Erfindern, den Brüdern Lumière aus Lyon, in Paris der Weltöffentlichkeit vorgestellt. Knapp vier Monate später (!), im Oktober 1907, fand bereits die erste Ausstellung von Farbfotografien (nach dem Lumière-Autochrome-Verfahren) von Hermann Mahl in seiner Buchhandlung in der Brunecker Stadtgasse statt. Wie Mahl innerhalb so kurzer Zeit an diese „revolutionären“ Farbplatten gekommen ist, ist nicht nachvollziehbar. Fest steht aber, dass er als Vertreter des Brunecker Bildungsbürgertums sehr weltoffen, kunstinteressiert und in früheren Jahren viel gereist war und offensichtlich gute Kontakte zur europäischen Kunst- und Fotografie-Szene pflegte. Dank der Technik der Autochrom-Platten (fotografische Bromsilberplatten) kann mit einer einzigen Aufnahme ein farbenrichtiges, direktes und positives Glasbild hergestellt werden.

HERMANN MAHL – „AUTOCHROME“, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY) 11.3. – 10.4.20

Gerade das Jahrzehnt vor dem Ausbruch des Ersten Weltkrieges war eine Zeit des Umbruchs, die auch von den Schattenseiten der technischen Zivilisation geprägt war. In der Abbildung von Landschaften im Reigen der Jahreszeiten, die Mahl vor allem in den Autochromen porträtierte, spiegelt sich ein Innehalten und Konservieren einer im Verschwinden begriffenen, als heil empfundenen Welt. Vor allem die Berge galten als Inbegriff von Natur und Freiheit, als Symbol für die Ferne des zunehmend hektischer werdenden Stadtlebens. Zu Mahls Lieblingsmotiven zählten Landschaften, vor allem Bergaufnahmen um das Brunecker Becken und im Gadertal sowie verschiedenste Ansichten der Stadt Bruneck und Bozen samt ihrer Umgebung. Einige dieser Bilder dienten unter anderem als Vorlage für Postkarten sowie Illustrationen in Zeitungen und anderen Druckprodukten wie zum Beispiel Reiseführern. Ein weiterer Schwerpunkt liegt auf Aufnahmen der Familie sowie Gruppenbildern mit Freunden und Bekannten. 

HERMANN MAHL – „AUTOCHROME“, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY) 11.3. – 10.4.20

Hermann Mahl wurde 1860 als Sohn des Buchdruckers und zeitweiligen Bürgermeisters von Bruneck Johann Georg Mahl geboren. Er absolvierte eine vierjährige Lehre im väterlichen Betrieb, bevor er seine Ausbildung als Schriftsetzer in München, Linz, Hamburg und an anderen Orten fortsetzte. In Stuttgart schloss er 1879 seine Lehr- und Wanderjahre ab. Nach dem Militärdienst arbeitete Mahl als technischer Leiter der Brunecker Druckerei. Nach dem Tod des Vaters übernahm er die Leitung des gesamten Geschäftes, das er auch unter der italienischen Verwaltung nach dem Ende des Ersten Weltkrieges und dem Zusammenbruch der Habsburgermonarchie weiterführte. 1934 beging Hermann Mahl feierlich sein 60jähriges Berufsjubiläum, 1944 starb er im Alter von 84 Jahren. 

HERMANN MAHL – „AUTOCHROME“, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – „AUTOCHROME“, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – „AUTOCHROME“, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – „AUTOCHROME“, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – „AUTOCHROME“, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – „AUTOCHROME“, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – „AUTOCHROME“, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – „AUTOCHROME“, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – „AUTOCHROME“, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – „AUTOCHROME“, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – „AUTOCHROME“, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – „AUTOCHROME“, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – „AUTOCHROME“, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – „AUTOCHROME“, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – „AUTOCHROME“, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

HERMANN MAHL – „AUTOCHROME“, EXHIBITION AT FOTO FORUM, BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY), Exhibition view: Claudia Corrent, foto forum

 

Transparency

Tutela del dati Datenschutzerklarung Privacy Policy