Workshop: Erik Kessels – Small Universe

workshop: 11. + 12.5.2019, 10 am – 5 pm

Erik Kessels

 

Cities are crowded, houses are small and personal space is hard to find. You are always surrounded by people and people’s stuff. You are hardly ever alone. In a place where horizons are scarce, people create new visions by reinterpreting their immediate surroundings. Obsessively zooming in on all the little details that make up their small universe. Adding new meanings to relationships, repetitions, peeing girlfriends and parked cars.

In this workshop, every participant will search for and develop such a condensed obsession and make a project out of it. The most beautiful photographic projects have their origin in something very small, personal and intimate. Kessels will develop the idea and execution of such a project with the participants in this workshop.

Sign Up: info@foto-forum.it, Language: English, Fee: €250

 

Who is Erik Kessels?

Called “a visual sorcerer” by Time Magazine and a “Modern Anthropologist” by Voque Italia, Erik Kessels is a Dutch artist known for his experimental use of found photography. He re-appropriates and re-contextualises images, creating new significance for materials that would otherwise be overlooked. Besides being the co-founder and creative partner of the international communications agency KesselsKramer, Kessels has published over 50 books of his ‘re-appropriated’ images, is editor of the alternative photography magazine Useful Photography and has written the international bestseller Failed It!
Kessels made and curated exhibitions such as Loving Your Pictures, Use me Abuse me, 24HRS of Photos, Album Beauty, From Here On and Unfinished Father. In 2010 Kessels was awarded with the Amsterdam Prize of the Arts, in 2016 nominated for the Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation Prize. In 2017-2019 his mid-career retrospective was shown in Turin, Budapest and Düsseldorf.

SMALL UNIVERSE, WORKSHOP BY ERIK KESSELS AT FOTO FORUM BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY) 11. + 12.5.2019, PHOTO: CLAUDIA CORRENT, FOTO FORUM

SMALL UNIVERSE, WORKSHOP BY ERIK KESSELS AT FOTO FORUM BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY) 11. + 12.5.2019, PHOTO: CLAUDIA CORRENT, FOTO FORUM

SMALL UNIVERSE, WORKSHOP BY ERIK KESSELS AT FOTO FORUM BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY) 11. + 12.5.2019, PHOTO: CLAUDIA CORRENT, FOTO FORUM

SMALL UNIVERSE, WORKSHOP BY ERIK KESSELS AT FOTO FORUM BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY) 11. + 12.5.2019, PHOTO: CLAUDIA CORRENT, FOTO FORUM

SMALL UNIVERSE, WORKSHOP BY ERIK KESSELS AT FOTO FORUM BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY) 11. + 12.5.2019, PHOTO: CLAUDIA CORRENT, FOTO FORUM

SMALL UNIVERSE, WORKSHOP BY ERIK KESSELS AT FOTO FORUM BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY) 11. + 12.5.2019, PHOTO: CLAUDIA CORRENT, FOTO FORUM

 

Transparency

Tutela del dati Datenschutzerklarung Privacy Policy

Workshop: Erik Kessels – Small Universe

workshop: 11. + 12.5.2019, 10 – 17 Uhr

Erik Kessels

 

Städte sind überfüllt, Häuser sind klein und persönlicher Raum ist nur schwer zu finden. Wir sind immer von Menschen und deren Sachen umgeben. Fast nie sind wir allein. An einem Ort, an dem Horizonte selten sind, schaffen Menschen neue Visionen, indem sie ihre unmittelbare Umgebung neu interpretieren. Obsessives Zoomen auf all die winzigen Details, die ihr kleines Universum ausmachen. Hinzufügen neuer Bedeutungen zu Beziehungen, Wiederholungen, pinkelnde Freundinnen und geparkende Autos.

In diesem Workshop wird jeder Teilnehmer nach einer solchen Besessenheit suchen, sie entwickeln und daraus ein Projekt machen. Die schönsten fotografischen Projekte haben ihren Ursprung in etwas sehr Kleinem, Persönlichem und Intimem. Kessels wird mit den Teilnehmern dieses Workshops die Idee und Durchführung eines solchen Projekts entwickeln.

Anmeldung: info@foto-forum.it, Sprache: Englisch, Kosten: €250

 

Who is Erik Kessels?

Erik Kessels, vom Time Magazine als „visueller Magier“ und von Voque Italia als „moderner Anthropologe“ bezeichnet, ist ein niederländischer Künstler, der für seinen experimentellen Einsatz von gefundener Fotografie bekannt ist. Er eignet sich Bilder an, rekontextualisiert sie und schafft so neue Bedeutung für jenes Material, das sonst übersehen würde. Neben seiner Tätigkeit als Mitbegründer und Partner der internationalen Kommunikationsagentur KesselsKramer hat Kessels über 50 Bücher seiner „wiederverwendeten“ Bilder veröffentlicht, ist Herausgeber des alternativen Fotomagazins Useful Photography und hat den internationalen Bestseller Failed It! geschrieben.
Kessels kreierte und kuratierte Ausstellungen wie Loving Your Pictures, Use me Abuse me, 24HRS of Photos, Album Beauty, From Here On und Unfinished Father. Im Jahr 2010 wurde Kessels mit dem Amsterdam Prize of the Arts ausgezeichnet, 2016 für den Deutsche Börse Photography Foundation Prize nominiert. In den Jahren 2017-2019 wurde seine Mid-Career-Retrospektive in Turin, Budapest und Düsseldorf gezeigt.

SMALL UNIVERSE, WORKSHOP BY ERIK KESSELS AT FOTO FORUM BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY) 11. + 12.5.2019, PHOTO: CLAUDIA CORRENT, FOTO FORUM

SMALL UNIVERSE, WORKSHOP BY ERIK KESSELS AT FOTO FORUM BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY) 11. + 12.5.2019, PHOTO: CLAUDIA CORRENT, FOTO FORUM

SMALL UNIVERSE, WORKSHOP BY ERIK KESSELS AT FOTO FORUM BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY) 11. + 12.5.2019, PHOTO: CLAUDIA CORRENT, FOTO FORUM

SMALL UNIVERSE, WORKSHOP BY ERIK KESSELS AT FOTO FORUM BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY) 11. + 12.5.2019, PHOTO: CLAUDIA CORRENT, FOTO FORUM

SMALL UNIVERSE, WORKSHOP BY ERIK KESSELS AT FOTO FORUM BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY) 11. + 12.5.2019, PHOTO: CLAUDIA CORRENT, FOTO FORUM

SMALL UNIVERSE, WORKSHOP BY ERIK KESSELS AT FOTO FORUM BOLZANO/BOZEN (ITALY) 11. + 12.5.2019, PHOTO: CLAUDIA CORRENT, FOTO FORUM

Tutela del dati Datenschutzerklarung Privacy Policy